Reply
New Member
Posts: 5
Registered: 4 weeks ago
Kudos: 1

Error: Unable to reset UVC G3 [MAC@ 192.168.0.27] to defaults, camera not accessible.

[ Edited ]

Hello community,

 

I am having a heck of a time with my UVC-G3-AF. The camera will not constantly come online after disconnecting and reconnecting the cat6 cable. I have a UVC-G3-Dome and this is not an issue with this camera. 

 

I am running Cloud Key Gen 2 Plus with Protect 1.5.0. Power is provided by a TPLink switch: TL-SG1016PE. I have reset the camera and left the PoE plugged in. After reviewing the logs I see the following entry in camera.log:

 

2019-02-02T22:29:52.018Z - error:  Error: Unable to reset UVC G3 [MAC @ 192.168.0.27] to defaults, camera not accessible.
    at r.catch.s (/usr/share/unifi-protect/app/webpack:/src/middleware/cameras/subscribers/resetToDefaults.js:13:1)
    at tryCatcher (/usr/share/unifi-protect/app/node_modules/bluebird/js/release/util.js:16:23)
    at Promise._settlePromiseFromHandler (/usr/share/unifi-protect/app/node_modules/bluebird/js/release/promise.js:512:31)
    at Promise._settlePromise (/usr/share/unifi-protect/app/node_modules/bluebird/js/release/promise.js:569:18)
    at Promise._settlePromise0 (/usr/share/unifi-protect/app/node_modules/bluebird/js/release/promise.js:614:10)
    at Promise._settlePromises (/usr/share/unifi-protect/app/node_modules/bluebird/js/release/promise.js:690:18)
    at _drainQueueStep (/usr/share/unifi-protect/app/node_modules/bluebird/js/release/async.js:138:12)
    at _drainQueue (/usr/share/unifi-protect/app/node_modules/bluebird/js/release/async.js:131:9)
    at Async._drainQueues (/usr/share/unifi-protect/app/node_modules/bluebird/js/release/async.js:147:5)
    at Immediate.Async.drainQueues (/usr/share/unifi-protect/app/node_modules/bluebird/js/release/async.js:17:14)
    at runCallback (timers.js:810:20)
    at tryOnImmediate (timers.js:768:5)
    at processImmediate [as _immediateCallback] (timers.js:745:5)

I am not sure what to do at this point. I have forced the Unifi Controller to release the IP and then factory reset again - still no luck.

 

Thank you.

Ubiquiti Employee
Posts: 4,391
Registered: ‎06-18-2015
Kudos: 1316
Solutions: 396

Re: Error: Unable to reset UVC G3 [MAC@ 192.168.0.27] to defaults, camera not accessible.

Hi @MarcoRLee,

Is this camera still listed in your Protect controller? If it is, please Unmanage / Forget it. You should then be able to factory reset the camera, connect it to the switch, and adopt it. The message above is the NVR failing to reset the camera at the time as it wasn't accessible.

UBNT_Alternate_Logo.png
Ubiquiti Networks Enterprise Support Team


UniFi Protect: UniFi Protect Help Center | Frequently Asked Questions

UniFi Video 3: UniFi Video Help Center | UFV3 User Guide


New Member
Posts: 5
Registered: 4 weeks ago
Kudos: 1

Re: Error: Unable to reset UVC G3 [MAC@ 192.168.0.27] to defaults, camera not accessible.

Hello Cody, thank you for the reply.

 

I did unmanage / forget it within Protect controller. In an attempt to manage again, I did the steps outlined below before submitting a ticket and making this post. 

 

At this point the camera never shows up in Protect to manage again. Tonight I will try to reset it via TFTP.

New Member
Posts: 5
Registered: 4 weeks ago
Kudos: 1

Re: Error: Unable to reset UVC G3 [MAC@ 192.168.0.27] to defaults, camera not accessible.

My local network's IP range was originally 192.168.0.1-192.168.0.254. In the TFTP instructions, the steps requested for the computer to be on a static IP in the 192.168.1.X range. After resetting my USG, Cloud Key and switch back to 192.168.1.X and factory resetting the camera, I was able to connect to it. 
 
It seems the camera was stuck on 192.168.1.X while my network was 192.168.0.X, making it unreachable.
New Member
Posts: 5
Registered: 4 weeks ago
Kudos: 1

Re: Error: Unable to reset UVC G3 [MAC@ 192.168.0.27] to defaults, camera not accessible.

[ Edited ]
The camera is unresponsive again. This morning the Camera was offline. I clicked reboot from Protect interface and it never came back online. I went to unmanage, factory reset, and I can't get the camera to manage again. 
 
Below is the manage working yesterday:
Line 50869: 2019-02-06T02:07:38.629Z - info: Managing UVC G3 [B4FBE47E2C1F @ 192.168.1.17]
Line 50870: 2019-02-06T02:07:38.699Z - warn: 500 UVC G3 [B4FBE47E2C1F @ 192.168.1.17] POST api/1.1/manage
Line 50871: 2019-02-06T02:07:39.920Z - info: Successfully managed UVC G3 [B4FBE47E2C1F @ 192.168.1.17]
 
Reviewing the log, I see the following entry:
Line 25: 2019-02-06T12:27:09.640Z - error: Error: Backwards append detected! B4FBE47E2C1F_2_00003996_00000000.ubv. 5000ms overlap
Line 90: 2019-02-06T12:28:22.289Z - error: Failed to manage UVC G3 2C1F [B4FBE47E2C1F @ 192.168.1.17]
 
 
This is extremely frustrating. You can see Protect trying to unmanage and fail.
Line 715: 2019-02-06T12:58:14.547Z - error: Error removing references to UVC G3 2C1F [B4FBE47E2C1F @ 192.168.1.17] before deleting
Line 745: 2019-02-06T12:58:18.822Z - error: UVC G3 2C1F [B4FBE47E2C1F @ 192.168.1.17] is not connected
Line 746: 2019-02-06T12:58:18.823Z - error: EHOSTUNREACH UVC G3 2C1F [B4FBE47E2C1F @ 192.168.1.17] GET api/1.2/reset
Line 747: 2019-02-06T12:58:18.827Z - error:  Error: Unable to reset UVC G3 2C1F [B4FBE47E2C1F @ 192.168.1.17] to defaults, camera not accessible
Ubiquiti Employee
Posts: 4,391
Registered: ‎06-18-2015
Kudos: 1316
Solutions: 396

Re: Error: Unable to reset UVC G3 [MAC@ 192.168.0.27] to defaults, camera not accessible.

@MarcoRLee,

 

The TFTP instructions are to use a static IP on the 192.168.1.x subnet for the system used to flash the device because the camera will always boot as 192.168.1.20. Outside of TFTP, the camera can only get IPs one of three ways:

 

- Using the default fallback IP address, when DHCP isn't available: 192.168.1.20
- Using DHCP, as an IP lease
- Using a static IP address, configured within the camera

 

The only way the camera could get "stuck" with an IP address on a different subnet, is if there is a rogue DHCP server on your network. This could happen if someone has connected another router to the network - often by users who want to use a standard home router as an access point but don't disable the routing functionality. Can you verify that you don't have any other DHCP servers on the network? You may also want to enable DHCP Guarding on the UniFi Switch, if your whole network is running UniFi devices.

 

When this happens again, rather than attempting to unmanage the camera from Protect, diagnose the camera connection itself. Check to see if the camera appears as a client in the UniFi Network controller, then see if you can ping the camera and log into its interface. If you can't, then the camera itself is likely having trouble with network connectivity and I would suggest taking it down from where it is installed and connecting it to the switch with a short patch cable to see if the issue persists.

 

Finally, if nothing else works, then I would have to assume the camera is faulty and requires replacement. I don't believe the error messages you are sharing above are of importance as they don't indicate anything other than that the NVR is unable to communicate with the camera.

UBNT_Alternate_Logo.png
Ubiquiti Networks Enterprise Support Team


UniFi Protect: UniFi Protect Help Center | Frequently Asked Questions

UniFi Video 3: UniFi Video Help Center | UFV3 User Guide


New Member
Posts: 5
Registered: 4 weeks ago
Kudos: 1

Re: Error: Unable to reset UVC G3 [MAC@ 192.168.0.27] to defaults, camera not accessible.

Cody, thank you for the detailed response - I really appreciate it. 

 

We do not have another DHCP on the network. I am currently running UniFi USG and Cloud Key Gen 2. My switch is currently TP-Link. I'll investigate DHCP guarding.

 

Now that my IP range is 192.168.1.X I am able to reliably get the MAC address show up on the UniFi Network Controller as a client; as you suggested below. However, it is staying "offline" in Protect controller. I have ran the camera over the supplied PoE injector, still not coming back "online".

 

I will submit an RMA and try again with the replacement. 

Reply