Scheduled maintenance: Community will be offline Monday June 17th, 1:00 AM - 6:00 AM (PT)
Member
Posts: 164
Registered: ‎06-19-2013
Kudos: 61
Solutions: 5
Accepted Solution

Is USG required for Protect and UniFi?

[ Edited ]

I'm building a Protect + UniFi WiFi system using the CKG2+

 

The dashboard is telling me I can't access network information (or similar message) because I don't have a USG.

 

Do I require a USG for this system to work, or can I install my own router/firewall, without losing functionality (as I planned) ?

 

I thought the USG's were being phased out or something, so I'm a Little unsure what to do.

 

It's my 1st proper UniFi system, so far it's going ok, I just didn't expect to have to include a USG, as I've never used one, and not 100% sure what they actually do. From what I gather, they're just a router/firewall yeah?

 

Cheers


Accepted Solutions
Ubiquiti Employee
Posts: 1,567
Registered: ‎07-03-2014
Kudos: 1298
Solutions: 158

Re: Is USG required for Protect and UniFi?

Yes the USG is just a router, it's not required. There will be certain settings and features in UniFi that won't be available, but nothing to fret about.

 

 

View solution in original post


All Replies
Ubiquiti Employee
Posts: 1,567
Registered: ‎07-03-2014
Kudos: 1298
Solutions: 158

Re: Is USG required for Protect and UniFi?

Yes the USG is just a router, it's not required. There will be certain settings and features in UniFi that won't be available, but nothing to fret about.

 

 

Member
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎06-22-2015
Kudos: 33
Solutions: 13

Re: Is USG required for Protect and UniFi?

Some information is collected from the USG, others from UniFi switches and rest from the UniFi APs. So if you want all the info you can get in the controller you will need to have all UniFi components. 

Member
Posts: 164
Registered: ‎06-19-2013
Kudos: 61
Solutions: 5

Re: Is USG required for Protect and UniFi?

Cool, cool, thx guys

I guess the USG's are decent gear, and I guess that extra info from an in-house unit is handy, and makes sense.
Senior Member
Posts: 2,963
Registered: ‎03-20-2017
Kudos: 1533
Solutions: 85

Re: Is USG required for Protect and UniFi?

Ubiquiti Employee
Posts: 4,896
Registered: ‎06-18-2015
Kudos: 1533
Solutions: 456

Re: Is USG required for Protect and UniFi?

@lowlanda,

If you are interested in seeing an active (simulated) controller with USG, USWs and UniFi APs, take a look at https://demo.ui.com/

UBNT_Alternate_Logo.png
Ubiquiti Networks Enterprise Support Team


UniFi Protect: UniFi Protect Help Center | Frequently Asked Questions

UniFi Video 3: UniFi Video Help Center | UFV3 User Guide