Kudos: 1

Deploy Site to Site VPN on new USGs - help!

I'm taking over a project and need a little push in the right direction on this.

We have 3 USG Pros that we want to set up as a Site-to-Site VPN network. Two of the units are deployed and semi-operational, one is still in the box. Here are my questions:

1. My understanding is that I need to adopt the "Remote" units first, does this mean that I have to first get all 3 in the same location, adopt everything on the "Base" controler and then deploy them?
  2. Can I use Cloud Key to avoid bringing everything back to the Base location first?
  3. Do I have to have Cloud Key to operate this kind of network?

I have plenty of UniFi and USG experience but we haven't set up this kind of network so any step-by-step help will be appreciated.

Emerging Member
Kudos: 9
Solutions: 3

Re: Deploy Site to Site VPN on new USGs - help!

You can adopt them from remote sites.

You need the Cloud Key on a static IP.

You need to port forward 8080 and 3478 on the network that hosts the Cloud Key.

UniFi-Cloud-Key-Troubleshooting-Guide covers most.

You also want wither a static WAN ip or a dns service to use a FQDN to enable the remote equipment to find the cloud key network.

You can then set inform on the remote equipment direct to the cloud key using teh FQDN/stattic ip  (NNN.NNN.NNN.NNN:8080)

This is what I have, I initially had a cloud key both locations but moved the remote equipment to teh main cloudkey, then used an AUTO VPN.

Kudos: 272
Solutions: 23

Is there a controller at each location now? For auto site-to-site, there is just one controller at one of the locations. Within the controller you define different sites (locations/networks where each usg is). Then within the controller you can simply pick the sites to establish the vpn. If you have a controller at each location then you can set up a manual site-to-site instead. A controller can be a cloudkey or installed on dedicated hardware, on-site or cloud hosted.