Reply
Regular Member
Posts: 541
Registered: ‎06-26-2016
Kudos: 189
Solutions: 16

Fioptics (IPTV by Cincinnati Bell) Definitive Guide

[ Edited ]

There is a bunch of really good information on these forums, but it is in several different posts in different threads, and to pay back all of the good advice that I got from those I thought I would help future Fioptics customers by summarizing my learnings here.

 

Background

Fioptics use of multicast is pretty simple.  They do not use VLAN tags, and all IGMP is sourced at 10.0.0.0/8 and targeted at 239.0.0.0/8, so all you need to do is setup the upstream and downstream proxy, and add the firewall rules, and you're good.

 

Firewall Rules

You need to add a couple of rules or you won't get any traffic to proxy.  On the WAN_IN you need to accept UDP packets from 10.0.0.0/8 destined for 239.0.0.0/8.  On the WAN_LOCAL you need to accept all IGMP protocol packets.

 

Switches

If you don't want to flood the network with extra traffic, turn on IGMP snooping on the networks in the controller, which will limit traffic on the swtiches.

 

IGMP Proxy

USG-PRO (4 port)

eth2 is your wan interface
eth0 is your lan interface
 
ssh into your USG and enter these commands.  You can use 0.0.0.0/0 (all networks) for both of the subnets, but you don't need to, the below will work fine.
configure
set protocols igmp-proxy interface eth2 alt-subnet 10.0.0.0/8
set protocols igmp-proxy interface eth2 role upstream
set protocols igmp-proxy interface eth0 alt-subnet 239.0.0.0/8
set protocols igmp-proxy interface eth0 role downstream
edit protocols igmp-proxy
set interface eth2 threshold 1
set interface eth0 threshold 1
commit
save
exit

 

USG-3 (lite)

eth0 is your wan interface
eth1 is your lan interface
 
ssh into your USG and enter these commands.  You can use 0.0.0.0/0 (all networks) for both of the subnets, but you don't need to, the below will work fine.
configure
set protocols igmp-proxy interface eth0 role upstream
set protocols igmp-proxy interface eth0 alt-subnet 10.0.0.0/8
set protocols igmp-proxy interface eth1 role downstream
set protocols igmp-proxy interface eth1 alt-subnet 239.0.0.0/8
edit protocols igmp-proxy
set interface eth0 threshold 1
set interface eth1 threshold 1
commit
save
exit
After either you can confirm this is working by executing these commands.  If you don't see packets your firewall rules are wrong (also you might see packets with the "wrong" counter incrementing.
 
show ip multicast mfc
show ip multicast interfaces
 
screenshots of the firewall rules... I created groups for the addresses, but you don't have to.
 
 
IGMP_IN_GROUP.jpg
IGMP_OUT_GROUP.jpg
WAN_IN_UDP_ALLOW.jpg
WAN_LOCAL_ALLOW_IGMP.jpg
New Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-20-2017

Re: Fioptics (IPTV by Cincinnati Bell) Definitive Guide

Don't forget, with a USG you need to dump those portions of config into config.gateway.json in your cloudkey/unifi controller for it to remain permanent. 

 

 

 

New Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-17-2016

Re: Fioptics (IPTV by Cincinnati Bell) Definitive Guide

I'm curious if you are using the Fioptics gear at all.  There's a MoCA on my unit that feeds out to my STB's.  I can obviously get a MoCA of my own, but figured I'd ask how you're configured.  At one point, I planned to set the Fioptics gear to just leverage the DHCP from the USG, but since I never got the Multicast working, I kinda gave up.   Here's a pic of the back of my device.  The yellow line is the WAN line from Fiotpics, the black goes out to my Cisco switch for the house.

IMG_1525.JPG

Regular Member
Posts: 541
Registered: ‎06-26-2016
Kudos: 189
Solutions: 16

Re: Fioptics (IPTV by Cincinnati Bell) Definitive Guide

I am not. I have done a couple of these, and you can use either the cable/MOCA to the STB or use the Ethernet, so you could replace with a USG and go to the box with Ethernet instead of the coax, or add a MOCA adapter at your USG and get rid of their router. My next stop is to try and get them to credit me for their router (which they don't want to do, but I think the FCC says they have to do).
New Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-17-2016

Re: Fioptics (IPTV by Cincinnati Bell) Definitive Guide

So I'm testing this out and my stupid MoCa I got is DOA.  It's not powering up.  Any pointers on maybe using the old Fioptics device as the MoCa?   I tried just running the thing to my old fiber modem from my network switch to the Internet port with the default settings and the TV's aren't working  They load to that 11/20 setting.

 

Regular Member
Posts: 541
Registered: ‎06-26-2016
Kudos: 189
Solutions: 16

Re: Fioptics (IPTV by Cincinnati Bell) Definitive Guide

You can use the Fiopitcs Zyxel router for the MOCA, yes. On all of them I've seen they shipped with MOCA enabled, but you can check it, there's no login password, just connect it directly to your ONT and check for it at 192.168.200.1 (on one of it's ports) and check the MOCA is on. You should just be able to connect it to your house's COAX, and connect your STB on the same COAX, and it "should" work.
New Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-17-2016

Re: Fioptics (IPTV by Cincinnati Bell) Definitive Guide

I must be doing something wrong on my side.  I have setup an ethernet test STB (still waiting on the broken MoCa to be replaced).  The test STB box just sits at the 11/20 screen and never boots.  Below is a grab of the mfc and interface after I ran the setup.  As you can see, my eth0 is WAN and eth1 is LAN.  I ran the USG 3 (lite) script and all the configs applied fine.  My firewall rules match yours 100%.  I'm not a network expert, but this looks like it's trying to work, but the box won't boot.   The STB with ethernet is setup as 192.168.1.32.

 

Screen Shot 2017-08-30 at 2.22.05 PM.png

Regular Member
Posts: 541
Registered: ‎06-26-2016
Kudos: 189
Solutions: 16

Re: Fioptics (IPTV by Cincinnati Bell) Definitive Guide

I'm about to head to Houston to help family, but I'll try to help. Did you create the Firewall rules above? Can you post your interfaecs output?
Regular Member
Posts: 541
Registered: ‎06-26-2016
Kudos: 189
Solutions: 16

Re: Fioptics (IPTV by Cincinnati Bell) Definitive Guide

Here are my interfaces - but you won't get the packets without the rules... (I have a bunch of VLANs)

Brett@rt-UniFi-USG---USGPro4:~$ show ip multicast interfaces
Intf             BytesIn        PktsIn      BytesOut       PktsOut            Local
eth0               0.00b             0         0.00b             0     192.168.10.1
eth2            168.00KB           218         0.00b             0  208.102.172.163
eth0.150           0.00b             0         0.00b             0    192.168.150.1
eth0.99            0.00b             0         0.00b             0     192.168.99.1
eth0.88            0.00b             0         0.00b             0     192.168.88.1
eth0.60            0.00b             0         0.00b             0     192.168.60.1
eth0.50            0.00b             0         0.00b             0     192.168.50.1
eth0.40            0.00b             0         0.00b             0     192.168.40.1
eth0.30            0.00b             0         0.00b             0     192.168.30.1
eth0.20            0.00b             0      168.00KB           218     192.168.20.1


And my multicast
Brett@rt-UniFi-USG---USGPro4:~$ show ip multicast mfc
Group           Origin           In          Out                Pkts         Bytes  Wrong
239.9.30.1      10.32.130.232    eth2        eth0.20              78       39.87KB      0
239.12.5.19     10.33.5.36       eth2        eth0.20              87      114.11KB      0
239.9.30.2      10.32.130.232    eth2        eth0.20              86       39.25KB      0
239.255.255.250 192.168.20.47    --
239.255.255.246 192.168.20.200   --
239.255.255.246 208.102.172.163  --
239.255.255.250 192.168.20.60    --
239.255.255.250 192.168.10.44    --
224.1.9.63      208.102.172.163  --
239.12.5.19     208.102.172.163  --
239.0.0.250     208.102.172.163  --
239.9.30.2      208.102.172.163  --
Brett@rt-UniFi-USG---USGPro4:~$

New Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-17-2016

Re: Fioptics (IPTV by Cincinnati Bell) Definitive Guide

Hey man - Houston takes all precedence.  Thanks for the help, but good luck down there.  I have friends down there too.  Crazy stuff!

 

I have to F up my entire network for testing, so I can't really send you a live interfaces grab.  But I can tell you I only EVER saw 1 packet go in/out.  But that was it.  It appeared to go across the WAN/LAN just fine.

 

You don't think this is a situation where I should be spoofing my Fioptics router MAC or anything like that do you?  It's wierd that I could see just the 1 packet.  

 

BTW - after I loop the Fioptics modem back in, ethernet to the STB works just fine on my network, so it's not a switch or ethernet issue. 

New Member
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎09-08-2017
Kudos: 2

Re: Fioptics (IPTV by Cincinnati Bell) Definitive Guide

Thanks for the writeup on this.

 

For VOD - I believe you need the RTSP helper module, which doesn't seem to get loaded by default.

 

set system conntrack modules rtsp enable

 

I tested VOD before adding this - and got nothing after hitting play.  Once I added this, VOD programs would play.

 

PS: Perhaps it's assumed as most residential gateways would have this - but I think you need to make sure you have UPNP enabled as well.  I turned on the upnp2 service (with NAT-PMP as well).  I can see the STB's requesting pinholes via this. 

New Member
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎09-08-2017
Kudos: 2

Re: Fioptics (IPTV by Cincinnati Bell) Definitive Guide

One other thing I ran into - igmpproxy seems to die sometimes (and video will freeze).  I verified this with 'ps'.  I believe disabling it on interfaces where it's not needed helps/fixes this.  I've added this config and it hasn't died since.  In my case I have the 3rd eth port, and two VPN tunnel ifaces, so I did:

 

set protocols igmp-proxy interface eth2 role disabled
set protocols igmp-proxy interface tun0 role disabled
set protocols igmp-proxy interface vtun0 role disabled

 

To make sure it's running, check with ps:

 

ubnt@erl-fioptics:~$ ps auxw | grep igmp | grep -v grep
root     16469  0.0  0.1   1968   552 ?        S    Jan15   0:28 /sbin/igmpproxy /etc/igmpproxy.conf

 

New Member
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎11-08-2017
Kudos: 4

Re: Fioptics (IPTV by Cincinnati Bell) Definitive Guide

I could not stay connected with my USG and Fioptics. they just went straight to the USG, everytime they refreshed i lost DNS settings in the USG and had to manually reset the USG. something really odd is all my devices on my network started picking up defautl IP's ignoring everything i had set and then getting lost, plug back in Spectrum and it all worked just fine. 

New Member
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-10-2018

Re: Fioptics (IPTV by Cincinnati Bell) Definitive Guide

I have the new entone DVR box and the alcatel (G-240G-A) ONT with an ER3-lite behind the ONT.  I'm not using their router.  The previous ONT had COAX to the DVR so I didn't have to route it.

 

 

I tried your guide twice.  The only difference I can tell is that I don't have a USG-PRO.  I did add the firewall rules as well.

New Member
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-10-2018

Re: Fioptics (IPTV by Cincinnati Bell) Definitive Guide

Ok, got it to work.  For my firewall rules I had to click Established, New, Related.  Those weren't checked on yours so I'm guessing something changed since v1.10.  Thanks to @vom513 for the VOD tip!

New Member
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎09-08-2017
Kudos: 2

Re: Fioptics (IPTV by Cincinnati Bell) Definitive Guide

FYI - I have a ticket open on the igmpproxy issue.  It seems like if you have interfaces that don't exist at boot (i.e. tunnels) - igmpproxy won't start with them disabled in config.

 

If you don't disable them, openvpn for example will rekey and igmpproxy will exit as chokes on doing multicast on such an interface.

 

If you don't have any kind of tunnels - I'm guessing you're probably okay.

New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-08-2018

Re: Fioptics (IPTV by Cincinnati Bell) Definitive Guide

bferrell-

 

Might you have a minute to help a fellow cincinnatian who uses pfSense to translate some of your quide into inofrmation that I could use for pfSense?

 

Thanks,

James

 

Reply