Kudos: 1

Having serious issues with UniFi Security Gateway 3P - Freezes everyday!

Ok, so over the past few years I've really fallen in love with Ubiquiti. Their wireless products are amazing and seem to always be one step ahead of everyone else. My background is in IT networking and by default I'm a Cisco fanboy (I'm a Cisco CCNP). But I decided it was time to change things up and I just made my apartment an Ubiquiti apartment! That's how much I love this company!

Ok, so the only thing that I'm having a serious issue with is the Security Gateway 3P. Every day, it will 'freeze' (for lack of a better term) and can not be seen by any other devices, including the controller. Well it can be seen but does not respond.

Here's my setup.

(1) Ubiquiti Cloud Key (UC‑CK)

(1) Ubiquiti Security Gateway 3P (USG-3P)

(1) Ubiquiti 16 port Poe Switch (US‑16‑150W)

(2) Ubiquiti AP-AC-Lite Access Points (UAP‑AC‑LITE)

I have the setup running on a controller on a dedicated cloud key that stays on my network at all times (powered by the 16 port Ubiquiti PoE switch). Everything is on the same VLAN (so single subnet) and I have a Cable internet connection which hands a public IP to the gateway. Really nothing complicated at all, this is your run of the mill network setup basically. And everything runs great - until the gateway falls offline, which it does every single day. All I have to do to fix the problem is physically reboot the gateway, and everything is fine again. But obviously I don't want to do that everyday. Fortunately, all internet traffic is still being passed through the gateway somehow, but it can't be reached once it freezes like this. On the Dashboard it shows as my WAN being down and on the device list it shows up as 'Adopting'. Obviously, this gateway has already been adopted. And like I said, once rebooted everything is good again. What is going on???