Highlighted
Kudos: 1
Solutions: 1

Home network expansion

Hello,

I am in need of network rebuild. Well, the "need" is not a exact word for decribing current situation. It is my geek/nerdiness which forces me to constantly rethink and redesign all things electronic in my house. I am not an expert in networking. I am an electronics engineer. I never owned a professional rack-mounted server nor managed switch. However utilizing the "dumb" wireless routers packed with multiple features has lead me to believe that one device is not capable of maintaining different roles efficiently. For example my RT-AC68U in first months after purchase had almost all features enabled. Nowadays it is only routing and providing wireless signal. Even DHCP was moved to external PiHole. I am willing to broaden my knowledge horizon. 

1. Current situation

image.pngcurrent situation

I am the owner of Location B on the diagram and co-owner of Location A. Location A is on elevated terrain while Location B is blocked from outside world with trees and buildings surrounding it. There are no local telecom lines nearby or they are in poor condition (max 1Mbit/s with lousy performance). Location A has a WISP with 15 Mbit/s and generic router+AP. I agreed with WISP to attach one more antenna to Location A with 10Mbit/s bandwidth and bought PBE 5AC to setup the very lucky (narrow passage of signal between trees and rooftops) connection to Location B. I have multiple IoT devices in Location B (on 2G4 wifi and eth) and some wireless entertainment thingamajigs (cellphones, PC). Location A is occupied by my parents with minimum network usage requirement.

2. Target

Goals:

- two locations merged into one network. Intercom over IP in mind 

- both locations with surveilance cams

- highest possible performance internet access (load balance of two WISP) with fallback to LTE

- remote access (currently done by OpenVPN).

- VLAN for IoT