Emerging Member
Kudos: 9
Solutions: 4
Accepted Solution

How to prevent circumvention of Open DNS with USG?

how can i prevent circumvention of Open DNS with the Unifi Security Gateway. without using the SSH.

their is a thread on here to do it with the SSH but i've never used it before, i'm wondering if it can be done with the Unifi Controller 5.3.8. i tried to do it like this but2017-02-09 (2).png nothing happens. i can still bypass the open dns with using a different server. also am very new to networking.

any help is appreciated?

Accepted Solutions
Kudos: 189
Solutions: 27

Re: How to prevent circumvention of Open DNS with USG?

[ Edited ]

Change ADDRv4 to NETv4 and Destination should be port 53 not LAN. Your Allow rule is wrong also. The Destination has to have the OpenDNS IP and Port 53.

Screen Shot 2017-02-09 at 7.32.30 PM.png

View solution in original post

All Replies
Kudos: 189
Solutions: 27

[ Edited ]

Change ADDRv4 to NETv4 and Destination should be port 53 not LAN. Your Allow rule is wrong also. The Destination has to have the OpenDNS IP and Port 53.

Screen Shot 2017-02-09 at 7.32.30 PM.png

Emerging Member

Allright thank you sir. I'm not sure how but it works! 

Kudos: 165
Solutions: 25

What don't you understand? Maybe we can explain it differently.

ADDRv4 is the address of the firewall interface on the network specified, not the network - that's why you had to change that. The other change is obvious.

Emerging Member

Well for one i don't understand a firewall at all, to me it seems like a living thinking understanding machine, it seems like if i type something in the Name space, like 'Allow dns server' and have the other options remotely close to where they should be it works.

Or does everything have to be correct to work?

could i type anything into the Name space , and still have it to Allow dns server? or does it have to be close to what i want it to do?

Kudos: 165
Solutions: 25