Reply
New Member
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎05-16-2018
Kudos: 5
Accepted Solution

Inter VLAN performance question

I have a few VLANs up and running on my network and all is well Smiley Happy

I have a USG Pro, a few switches including the 16 port 10Gig switch and a few APs. Icon Smile

 

I was wondering if there is a performance penalty associated with VLAN to VLAN communication due to the fact that all Unifi switches and L2 and not L3. I have heard that the USG must route VLAN to VLAN traffic.

Hoes does this work when I have 10Gb links, must I communicate at the 1Gb limit of the USG or can I still communicate from VLAN to VLAN at 10Gb/s if I am using 10Gb connections on SFP+ ports?

 

Thank you

 

 


Accepted Solutions
Established Member
Posts: 2,465
Registered: ‎03-20-2017
Kudos: 1130
Solutions: 79

Re: Inter VLAN performance question

Yes, USG must route VLAN to VLAN traffic, since not of the current switches are L3.
USG Pro only has 1G ports RJ45 or SFP.

View solution in original post


All Replies
Established Member
Posts: 2,465
Registered: ‎03-20-2017
Kudos: 1130
Solutions: 79

Re: Inter VLAN performance question

Yes, USG must route VLAN to VLAN traffic, since not of the current switches are L3.
USG Pro only has 1G ports RJ45 or SFP.
New Member
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎05-16-2018
Kudos: 5

Re: Inter VLAN performance question

oh that's disappointing....I need to think my VLANs through...
Thank you.
New Member
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎05-16-2018
Kudos: 5

Re: Inter VLAN performance question

[ Edited ]

So, to optimise for performance, is it recommended to assign a dedicated LAN input on the USG to as many of the VLANs as possible?

One can have LAN1, LAN2 and LAN3 on USG Pro (assuming only one WAN).

Such a pity that LAG is not supported on the USG...

Emerging Member
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎05-09-2013
Kudos: 14

Re: Inter VLAN performance question

the 16-XG's hardware SoC can do limited wirespeed L3 (the same with more than 6 LAGs).

 

it's a bit of tweaking in the broadcom devkit when they compile their firmware.

 

without going back in the threads, I think the cap was something like 512 MACaddrs and 8 static routes?

 

(and numports/2 for LAGmax)

 

but UBNT for some undisclosed reason absolutely refuse to enable either of those.

 

could be that marketing doesn't want it eating into edge sales.

 

sigh.

 

R.

 

Reply