Upcoming Maintenance Alert:

The UBNT Community will be upgraded at 5pm MDT on April 25th. During this time the community forums will be set to read-only status.

Learn more

Emerging Member
Kudos: 7
Solutions: 4

IoT segregation

[ Edited ]

Hi all,

First, I'm an amateur with unifi.   I do have a home system running - USG-4, USG 48 POE Switch and 3 AC-PRO access points.

On one of the AP, I have my daughter's SSID, the main SSID and a seperate IoT SSID.  On another AP, I have a lower level SSID and a guest SSID.  The guest is set up with quest authentication and a seperate guest network and I think Vlan.

Now, what I want to do is seperate the IoT SSID so those devices don't have access to the rest of my network, just internet access.  Things like thermostats, video doorbells, Ooma phone sys etc (although Ooma is hardwired come to think of it).

Can someone give a cheat sheet method.  I'm sure the equipment can handle it.  I think it is just above my pay grade.

Thanks,

Andrew

Emerging Member
Kudos: 8
Solutions: 3

Re: IoT segregation

The easiest idea may be to set the IOT wifi as another guest wifi and let the built-in access control do its job. 

Another idea would be to limit inter-VLAN routing using rule sets in the Firewall section of the controller (Depending on what version of the controller you're using). 

-Colt

Colter \'kohl-ter '\ vb : to be Ubiquiti noob.
Colter \'kohl-ter '\ n : The notorious "hold my beer, I got this" guy.
Emerging Member
Kudos: 7
Solutions: 4

If I set the IoT to a seperate guest network, will the devices first be sent to the login page ?  I don't think that will work.

Thanks

Emerging Member

[ Edited ]

If you have your guest network setup as a 'Hotspot' then yes. 

Looks like intern-vlan rules are the way to go then. 

This post is a good reference guide through the CLI on the EdgeRouter line.  Same sort of pathway for the USG's CLI, but can also be applicable if you have a newer controller with GUI options.