Reply
Regular Member
Posts: 383
Registered: ‎09-30-2009
Kudos: 111
Solutions: 3
Accepted Solution

Rackmounting a (regular) USG

Hi.

My home setup currently has an ER pro on a "loan" from a friend.

My UPS measured ~20watt of power draw (compared to ~5 watt the previous mikrotik router consumed) and my ears measued quite a lot of extra noise that is competing with an already noisy rack...

 

I thought about getting a smaller USG (I rather move to unifi anyway) and catch 3 birds in 1 stone:

Reduce power consumption a little bit

Probably produce less heat...

Reduce noise.

 

I don't need the horsepower the ERpro or the USG pro give and I am pretty sure that the USG would be more than enough for my home use.

However - there is no rackmount kit for it.

So:

 

1. Can it be installed with the logo facting up (and the air vents on the side)

2. Has anyone seen a rack kit for it? Any solution for a rack installation?

 

Thanks!

 


Accepted Solutions
Regular Member
Posts: 383
Registered: ‎09-30-2009
Kudos: 111
Solutions: 3

Re: Rackmounting a (regular) USG

Hi guys!

The USG has arrived.

I checked it with the mikrotik 450G rackmount unit and apparently it's a match!

Not only it's a match but my wife actually noticed that the screws position on the USG-3 are the same as the holes in the base plate.

Long story short, this is how it looks:

IMG_20171204_124934.jpgIMG_20171204_123349.jpgIMG_20171204_114305.jpgIMG_20171204_114251.jpg

View solution in original post


All Replies
Member
Posts: 139
Registered: ‎03-18-2017
Kudos: 95
Solutions: 4

Re: Rackmounting a (regular) USG

No rack kit available that I've seen. I mount mine to the wall so the ports are sideways, resulting in the air vents on the bottom and top. Previously it would be hot to the touch when stood horizontally, but no longer. Mine is above my network rack on the wall
Member
Posts: 282
Registered: ‎08-08-2015
Kudos: 78
Solutions: 4

Re: Rackmounting a (regular) USG

[ Edited ]

Step 1. Get 1U shelf
Step 2. Put 1U shelf in rack
Step 3. Put USG on Shelf
Step 4. ???
Step 5. Profit!

 

That's how I have my USG-3p mounted.  Both my comcast modem and USG sit on the shelf in my rack.

large.jpeg

Regular Member
Posts: 383
Registered: ‎09-30-2009
Kudos: 111
Solutions: 3

Re: Rackmounting a (regular) USG

Thanks guys.

 

I wanted to avoid using a shelf, I like my installation as tidy as possible, this is how my rack looked like before swithing to ERpro:IMG_20170520_191656.jpgAdded air venting system and some acoustic panels to reduce noiseIMG_20170502_180502.jpgTesting the setup before closing everything

Regular Member
Posts: 383
Registered: ‎09-30-2009
Kudos: 111
Solutions: 3

Re: Rackmounting a (regular) USG

Hi guys!

The USG has arrived.

I checked it with the mikrotik 450G rackmount unit and apparently it's a match!

Not only it's a match but my wife actually noticed that the screws position on the USG-3 are the same as the holes in the base plate.

Long story short, this is how it looks:

IMG_20171204_124934.jpgIMG_20171204_123349.jpgIMG_20171204_114305.jpgIMG_20171204_114251.jpg

Emerging Member
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎10-05-2016
Kudos: 13

Re: Rackmounting a (regular) USG

OMG!

 

I have been looking for a solution just like this!

 

THANK YOU!

 

You are the MAN!

SuperUser
Posts: 14,392
Registered: ‎12-08-2008
Kudos: 11132
Solutions: 688
Contributions: 1

Re: Rackmounting a (regular) USG

@GibsonLP

Is that the MaxxWave one?   Kind of amazing that the USG fits it so well...

Jim

" How can anyone trust Scientists? If new evidence comes along, they change their minds! " Politician's joke (sort of...)
"Humans are allergic to change..They love to say, ‘We’ve always done it this way.’ I try to fight that. "Admiral Grace Hopper, USN, Computer Scientist
":It's not Rocket Science! - Oh wait, Actually it is... "NASA bumper sticker
":The biggest problem in tech I see right now is that most users don't want to do things that are hard. That doesn't bode well for the industry or the society.": (me. actually ;-)
Regular Member
Posts: 383
Registered: ‎09-30-2009
Kudos: 111
Solutions: 3

Re: Rackmounting a (regular) USG

Senior Member
Posts: 2,940
Registered: ‎04-26-2016
Kudos: 1122
Solutions: 303

Re: Rackmounting a (regular) USG

Only minor disadvantage is you can’t see the status light of the USG.

Regular Member
Posts: 383
Registered: ‎09-30-2009
Kudos: 111
Solutions: 3

Re: Rackmounting a (regular) USG

Yup, I can live with that.
I'll check how hot it gets tomorrow. hopefully there is enough airflow so this would not be an issue (The vent is replacing the entire cabinet's air volume about once every 10 seconds iirc)
Member
Posts: 282
Registered: ‎08-08-2015
Kudos: 78
Solutions: 4

Re: Rackmounting a (regular) USG

That looks really good!
Emerging Member
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎10-05-2016
Kudos: 13

Re: Rackmounting a (regular) USG

I thought the same.  Was thinking that I can leave a small gap between U's to see the L.E.D.

 

In an open rack this may not be a problem.

Emerging Member
Posts: 77
Registered: ‎06-29-2017
Kudos: 18
Solutions: 2

Re: Rackmounting a (regular) USG

Great find!

 

It'll be a few months before I'm racking my gear, but I might experiment with a small acrylic rod shaped as a light pipe and fed to a hole drilled on the rack adapter as a way to convey the status indicator to the rack front. 

Ubiquiti at home: Unifi Ctlr v5.8.30 on UCK at v0.11.12
USG at v4.4.22
US L2 24 POE at v3.9.42 and US 8 at v4.0.10
(2) UAP AC PRO at v3.9.42 and UAP AC IW at v4.0.10
(2) pihole DNS on RPi, Comcast 75/5 w/Motorola MB-8600 modem
Regular Member
Posts: 383
Registered: ‎09-30-2009
Kudos: 111
Solutions: 3

Re: Rackmounting a (regular) USG

Why do you guys care so much for the light? isn't it relevant only when there is an adoption issue, etc...?

In any case - I am pretty sure that a fiber optic wire would be able to take some light out to the front.

New Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-28-2017
Kudos: 6

Re: Rackmounting a (regular) USG

Recently moved my USG from a shelf to a proper rack mount. Makes for a much cleaner look. I also used the "MaxxWave Rack Mount Adapter for MikroTik RouterBOARD 450".  Cheap solution, but just a heads up for others that it appears the screw pattern on the bottom of the USG changed slightly. (The newer ones only have 4 rubber foot pads instead of 8 - i.e. 1 in each corner instead of 2). As a result, I had to drill new holes. No big deal, but just a heads up. Could have also used some industrial strength velcro and been done with it, but I wanted to make sure it lined up perfectly. Here are a few pics. 

 

IMG-0681.JPGNew holes marked and punched for drillingIMG-0682.JPGOn the drill press.IMG-0684.JPGPerfect fit.

Emerging Member
Posts: 55
Registered: ‎10-11-2016
Kudos: 2
Solutions: 1

Re: Rackmounting a (regular) USG

Where in the world can you purchase this item?
New Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-28-2017
Kudos: 6

Re: Rackmounting a (regular) USG

I got mine from BalticNetworks.com - But potentially other options, not sure. No complaints for them as far as ordering / shipping.  I think it was around $14.

 

Link

 

New Member
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎05-09-2018
Solutions: 1

Re: Rackmounting a (regular) USG

[ Edited ]

Does anyone know how to get a hold of a maxxwave rack mount in europe or any similar? The shipping cost from balticnetwork is 80 dollars to europe.

New Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-04-2017

Re: Rackmounting a (regular) USG

Can you send me a photo of how you actually screwed the USG? I'm doing the same install as you

Emerging Member
Posts: 55
Registered: ‎10-11-2016
Kudos: 2
Solutions: 1

Re: Rackmounting a (regular) USG

I haven't screwed mine in yet, but there are screw holes on the bottom of the USG which I've used to wallmount mine. It should be the same screws for this unit, but one of the other posted noted it depends on the version of the USG. It may require drilling new holes.

Reply