Reply
New Member
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎01-05-2018

Speed optimizing wifi

Hello!

 

Have a site with USG, 5 UniFi switches and 8 AP-AC-Pro, and have 2 wireless network. And the questions are;

 

1. Will more then 1 wireless network reduce the internet speed?? Have disabled 1 of this network in each AP-AC-Pro

 

2. How should the config - Radios settings of each AP-AC-Pro be set to the best speed?? Today it is HT20 channel width, auto in channel and auto in Transmit power

 

3. Does the UniFi system change channel if there is other devices sending with the same channel, so it choose the best settings itself??

 

Regards

Kåre!

Established Member
Posts: 1,356
Registered: ‎01-29-2015
Kudos: 182
Solutions: 51

Re: Speed optimizing wifi

[ Edited ]

HT20 is only the 2.4ghz channel, and leave it there on HT20. You should probably manually set the power to low on 2.4ghz. What about your 5ghz channel?

 

You should not put the AP in auto for your channels. You should scan the environment and choose the channels that are most "clear". Use channels 1, 6, and 11 for 2.4ghz. Ensure you don't have nearby APs on the same channel.

 

No, they do not automatically choose the clear channel. See above.

 

This post needs to be moved to the Wireless section, admins?

New Member
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎01-05-2018

Re: Speed optimizing wifi

OK, how can I scan the enviroment??

 

And should all the AP-AC-Pro have the same channel??

Established Member
Posts: 1,356
Registered: ‎01-29-2015
Kudos: 182
Solutions: 51

Re: Speed optimizing wifi

[ Edited ]

See above, the APs should NOT be on the same channel.

 

You can scan with the tools built into the controller, you can use Wifi Analyzer on Android, etc.

 

 

New Member
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎03-31-2017
Kudos: 2

Re: Speed optimizing wifi

The way I've always done it, is in your controller, go to devices, then select an AP in question, then on the right, select tools, expand RF environment and select either 2G or 5G to scan, and then scan. The AP will drop all clients on those channels while it does the scan, but then eventually you can see the various bands and noise on each. 

 

In terms of all APs on the same channels, no. The idea around wireless is to have each AP handling their own clients, on their own channels, so that they don't step on each others channels and casue their own interference. The APs should try to move clients to each AP depending on signal strength, but if they're on the same channel, they would be fighting each other and causing their own interference. 

 

With 8 APs, you have a lot of RF scanning to do to find the best setup if this is a smaller building, so make sure the power is set to auto so that the controller can adjust the power output if these APs are all in close proximity.

Highlighted
New Member
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎01-05-2018

Re: Speed optimizing wifi

Thanks for explaining!

 

After scanning for other devices, how many free channel should it be under and above to the channel I choose??

 

What is the differenc of HT20 and HT40?? And VHT20, VHT40 and VHT80??

 

Transmit power, should that be auto, or should I use High??

Established Member
Posts: 1,483
Registered: ‎04-08-2014
Kudos: 473
Solutions: 75

Re: Speed optimizing wifi

You can have the controller scan all the AP's and do a calculation for you to provide a suggested channel layout and signal strength for each AP (and if you like it, you can apply the changes with a single click).

Go to the map section, place your devices on the map and then click the Green "Auto Channels" button. You will need to do the 2.4 and 5GHz bands separately.
Controller: 5.9.26 | Sites: 12 | Devices: 55 | Clients: ~250
USGs (4.4.28): XG8 (x1) | Pro4 (x4) | USG3 (x4)
UAPs (3.9.50): AC-Pro (x17) | AC-LR (x3) | Mesh-Pro (x2) | Mesh (x1) | Outdoor+ (x2)
USWs (3.9.50): US-16XG (x2) | US-40-500w (x3) | US-24-250w (x2)| US-8-150w (x3) | US-8-60w (x3) | US-8 (x2)
Reply