Emerging Member
Kudos: 24

USG Firewall Log Live Visulaztion using rsyslog server and sumologic

[ Edited ]

Hey All,

So I saw this thread about analyzing USG firewall logs a couple weeks ago and it got me thinking over thanksgiving break on the easiest and cheapest way to quickly visualize firewall logs. A lot of you may already know about this or have similiar / better setups. I'm not an I.T. person by trade, I just happen to be the one running the tech side of my companys two small offices on the side, and I was looking for the most simple solution I could find.

I did a bunch of research and came across projects link splunk, kibana and the ELK stack, grafana, etc. I dabbled in all of these but none of them were easy to setup, easy to maintain, and easy to customize. I then came across SumoLogic, which is a cloud hosted log visualizer. They offer a free tier for people transmitting less than 500mb/day of data, which I should be well under.

The way it works is you install a collector on the machine where the log file is located, and then it transmits the data straight to sumologic. You can set up the collector to grab syslog directly, but I found it easier to log the syslog entries from my unifi controller to a seperate file, and then tell the collector to watch that local file.

From there you can parse the data and visualize it anyway you want. Graphs, lists, GeoIP lookup, etc. After a day of tinkering here is what my first dashboard looks like

Screen Shot 2017-11-27 at 3.24.48 PM.png

The first thing I did was follow the guide @allank so wonderfully put together to setup a rsyslog server here: https://community.ubnt.com/t5/UniFi-Routing-Switching/Analyzing-USG-firewall-logs-for-attack-visibil... I set mine up on a $5/mo + 4$/mo block storage instance on DigitalOcean

Once it was setup and the logs were streaming in, I then created my account on SumoLogic, and wen't through the setup wizard of installing the collector

Choose Streaming Data