Reply
Emerging Member
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎08-16-2011
Kudos: 5
Accepted Solution

USG-Pro-4 router disconnected but devices connected

[ Edited ]

Hi, I recently deployed my first USG-PRO-4 router/gateway, and I've been getting a lot of false "disconnects" from the unifi controller.  If you take a look at the image attached to this post, you can see the router/gateway is listed as disconnected, while the APs are listed as connected.  Clearly this doesn't really make a lot of since because the devices are behind the gateway.  Is there anyway to fine tune something in order to avoid all of the fase disconnects I'm getting?

USG-PRO-4 false disconnectes

TIA

 

-Danze (with wolves)


Accepted Solutions
SuperUser
Posts: 15,082
Registered: ‎08-07-2008
Kudos: 7280
Solutions: 415
Contributions: 1

Re: USG-Pro-4 router disconnected but devices connected

http://community.ubnt.com/t5/UniFi-Updates-Blog/bg-p/Blog_UniFi

 

subscribe to that page. Cheers2

Walks in, tells it like it is, walks out , milks a cow

View solution in original post


All Replies
SuperUser
Posts: 15,082
Registered: ‎08-07-2008
Kudos: 7280
Solutions: 415
Contributions: 1

Re: USG-Pro-4 router disconnected but devices connected

I believe what you're seeing is a bug . The next version of the controller and firmware just went to RC beta a day or 2 ago. You could sign up for beta access and try it or wait for tje general release perhaps by rhe end of the week.

Allan
Walks in, tells it like it is, walks out , milks a cow
Emerging Member
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎08-16-2011
Kudos: 5

Re: USG-Pro-4 router disconnected but devices connected

Thanks Allan. How or where do I sign up for stable release notifications?
SuperUser
Posts: 15,082
Registered: ‎08-07-2008
Kudos: 7280
Solutions: 415
Contributions: 1

Re: USG-Pro-4 router disconnected but devices connected

Dig around in your user cp here at the forum there is a spot in there where you select what product line and submit a request for beta access.

Allan
Walks in, tells it like it is, walks out , milks a cow
Emerging Member
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎08-16-2011
Kudos: 5

Re: USG-Pro-4 router disconnected but devices connected

I'm not interested in beta access, I'm interested in stable release notifications.  Eitherway, thanks for reply.

SuperUser
Posts: 15,082
Registered: ‎08-07-2008
Kudos: 7280
Solutions: 415
Contributions: 1

Re: USG-Pro-4 router disconnected but devices connected

http://community.ubnt.com/t5/UniFi-Updates-Blog/bg-p/Blog_UniFi

 

subscribe to that page. Cheers2

Walks in, tells it like it is, walks out , milks a cow
Emerging Member
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎08-16-2011
Kudos: 5

Re: USG-Pro-4 router disconnected but devices connected

Sorry to beat this dead horse, but the latest firmware released friday didn't fix this.  Still trying to figure it out.

Ubiquiti Employee
Posts: 9,081
Registered: ‎01-28-2013
Kudos: 15488
Solutions: 600
Contributions: 20

Re: USG-Pro-4 router disconnected but devices connected

I suggest you check the logs on the device itself. The server.log for the controller may also contain useful info, but I think messages would be better. Connect via SSH and check /var/log/messages (you could 'cat /var/log/messages'). You can also download that file via scp, S/FTP, etc., to review in your preferred text editor.

 

Feel free to share the relevant parts here. The time should match up for when disconnected in controller, it shows info in the messages file. That file only stores so much data, so it will only contain recent info, old data will be gone.

 

Cheers,

Mike

Emerging Member
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎08-16-2011
Kudos: 5

Re: USG-Pro-4 router disconnected but devices connected

This is what I'm getting from the /var/log/messages:

 

Apr 12 18:08:40 MY-RT01 mcad: ace_reporter.reporter_fail(): Timeout (http://my.controller.com:8088/inform)
Apr 12 18:08:40 MY-RT01 mcad: ace_reporter.reporter_fail(): inform failed #1 (last inform: 16 seconds ago), rc=4
Apr 12 18:10:31 MY-RT01 mcad: ace_reporter.reporter_fail(): Timeout (http://my.controller.com:8088/inform)
Apr 12 18:10:31 MY-RT01 mcad: ace_reporter.reporter_fail(): inform failed #1 (last inform: 94 seconds ago), rc=4
Apr 12 18:12:21 MY-RT01 mcad: ace_reporter.reporter_fail(): Timeout (http://my.controller.com:8088/inform)
Apr 12 18:12:21 MY-RT01 mcad: ace_reporter.reporter_fail(): inform failed #1 (last inform: 93 seconds ago), rc=4
Apr 12 18:12:52 MY-RT01 mcad: ace_reporter.reporter_fail(): Timeout (http://my.controller.com:8088/inform)
Apr 12 18:12:52 MY-RT01 mcad: ace_reporter.reporter_fail(): inform failed #2 (last inform: 125 seconds ago), rc=4
Apr 12 18:13:23 MY-RT01 mcad: ace_reporter.reporter_fail(): Timeout (http://my.controller.com:8088/inform)
Apr 12 18:13:23 MY-RT01 mcad: ace_reporter.reporter_fail(): inform failed #3 (last inform: 156 seconds ago), rc=4
Apr 12 18:13:23 MY-RT01 mcad: ace_reporter.reporter_fail(): [STATE] entering SELFRUN!!!!
Apr 12 18:19:49 MY-RT01 mcad: ace_reporter.reporter_fail(): Timeout (http://my.controller.com:8088/inform)
Apr 12 18:19:49 MY-RT01 mcad: ace_reporter.reporter_fail(): inform failed #1 (last inform: 94 seconds ago), rc=4
Apr 12 18:20:25 MY-RT01 dhcpd: data: host_decl_name: not available
Apr 12 18:21:35 MY-RT01 mcad: ace_reporter.reporter_fail(): Timeout (http://my.controller.com:8088/inform)
Apr 12 18:21:35 MY-RT01 mcad: ace_reporter.reporter_fail(): inform failed #1 (last inform: 90 seconds ago), rc=4
Apr 12 18:31:44 MY-RT01 mcad: ace_reporter.reporter_fail(): Timeout (http://my.controller.com:8088/inform)
Apr 12 18:31:44 MY-RT01 mcad: ace_reporter.reporter_fail(): inform failed #1 (last inform: 95 seconds ago), rc=4
Apr 12 18:32:14 MY-RT01 mcad: ace_reporter.reporter_fail(): Timeout (http://my.controller.com:8088/inform)
Apr 12 18:32:14 MY-RT01 mcad: ace_reporter.reporter_fail(): inform failed #2 (last inform: 125 seconds ago), rc=4
Apr 12 18:34:09 MY-RT01 mcad: ace_reporter.reporter_fail(): Timeout (http://my.controller.com:8088/inform)
Apr 12 18:34:09 MY-RT01 mcad: ace_reporter.reporter_fail(): inform failed #1 (last inform: 99 seconds ago), rc=4

But the weird thing about it is that the APs on the network are not having any problems communicating with the controller.  Only the USG.

Emerging Member
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎08-16-2011
Kudos: 5

Re: USG-Pro-4 router disconnected but devices connected

My apologies for wasting your time.  I had an error in the prefered DNS server settings of the gateway.  This was creating the issue since if use a fqdn for the inform server.

Ubiquiti Employee
Posts: 9,081
Registered: ‎01-28-2013
Kudos: 15488
Solutions: 600
Contributions: 20

Re: USG-Pro-4 router disconnected but devices connected


@danzenie wrote:

My apologies for wasting your time.  I had an error in the prefered DNS server settings of the gateway.  This was creating the issue since if use a fqdn for the inform server.


No worries at all. Glad you were able to find the issue.

 

Cheers,

Mike

New Member
Posts: 39
Registered: ‎03-09-2015

Re: USG-Pro-4 router disconnected but devices connected

I am having the same issue on my USG-Pro-4.  My controller initally was located on a server at my house so it was all internal.  I am getting ready to move so I decided to switch my controller to an AWS instance.  I was able to adopt my UAP-AC-Pro's, USG-Pro-4 initally and everything was working fine.  After the first day or two i noticed my USG-Pro-4 disconnected and throwing an inform error.  My setup is below if anyone is able to assist:

 

Motorola Surfboard modem

USG-Pro-4

Cisco 3750 48 port gigabit poe switch

UAP-AC-Pro

 

I set my inform address to use the FQDN instance of my system, unifi.krauseoh.com.  If I need to post logs I can but they are just about identical to the ones in this thread.

 

Thanks,

 

Josh

New Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-18-2016

Re: USG-Pro-4 router disconnected but devices connected

Seeing a similar issue with a newly installed USG-Pro-4.  It has been up and working fine for about a week on firmware 4.3.33.  Today I noticed interruptions in connectivity, and when I got into the controller remotely, I see "Disconnected" next to the USG in devices.  I also have an AP-AC-PRO on this controller, which seems to be connected.  

 

Every half hour or so, the USG completely loses WAN connection and stays that way for about 30 min.  Then randomly the connection is reestablished.  But controller still shows "Disconnected".  

 

Since I'm not onsite, I can't power cycle the unit to see if that solves the problem.  Is there a way to remotely restart or reboot?  "Restart" is not shown as an option in the devices pane.

New Member
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎11-08-2013
Solutions: 1

Re: USG-Pro-4 router disconnected but devices connected

Hi, 


I'm experiencing the very same problem: controller 5.4.11 on AWS, USG on 4.3.34 and 10 APs. The APs are always on while USG appears disconnected every 10/20 minutes.

 

USG is configured as Weighted (50%) Load Balancing and both WAN are set to DHCP

New Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-18-2016

Re: USG-Pro-4 router disconnected but devices connected

We were able to solve the problem, temporarily at least, by disabling DPI in the settings.  Our USG has not had the restarting problem since then, and it's been over one month with no problems.

New Member
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎11-08-2013
Solutions: 1

Re: USG-Pro-4 router disconnected but devices connected

Tried but didn't work out; things even get worst... after provisioning the USG all APs except one became disconnected.

 

I think it's the device with something wrong.. today I'll go there and change with another USG or with an EdgeRouter Lite. This infact is the 1st site with heavy loads where I used USG as load balancing instead of ERLite.. maybe it's a general problem with USG...

 

 

Ubiquiti Employee
Posts: 5,088
Registered: ‎08-08-2016
Kudos: 5509
Solutions: 353

Re: USG-Pro-4 router disconnected but devices connected


@lbampi wrote:

Hi, 


I'm experiencing the very same problem: controller 5.4.11 on AWS, USG on 4.3.34 and 10 APs. The APs are always on while USG appears disconnected every 10/20 minutes.

 

USG is configured as Weighted (50%) Load Balancing and both WAN are set to DHCP


There is a known bug where load balancing is enabled, and the controller is reachable via the Internet. It'll fail to connect at least periodically in that case. It'll be worked on in the near future, there isn't a known workaround at this time. 

New Member
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎11-08-2013
Solutions: 1

Re: USG-Pro-4 router disconnected but devices connected

Many hours of work and travels to try to fix things and more than 40 days in contact with LiveChat to discover that the cause was a "known bug"? I really feel angry with Ubiquity this time.

I changed USG with ERLite and everything started working smooth as silk..

Now I've another site with 12 APs where I need to setup a USG configured as load balancing; if I user CloudKey will everything work fine or will I find the same problem?
Ubiquiti Employee
Posts: 5,088
Registered: ‎08-08-2016
Kudos: 5509
Solutions: 353

Re: USG-Pro-4 router disconnected but devices connected

Where the controller is local, the issue with load balancing doesn't apply, that's only where the controller is Internet-reachable. 

New Member
Posts: 39
Registered: ‎03-09-2015

Re: USG-Pro-4 router disconnected but devices connected

I ended up disabling DPI 3 days ago and have yet to have an inform error since.  Just food for thought.

Reply