×1
×1
×1
×1
×2
×1
Description

Hi guys

I've been a lurker for quite some time now so thought I'd share my experience with Ubiquiti Products. I've been using them for the last 3 years or so. Currently, I work at a small ISP in Cape Town South Africa. We deploy a large amount of Ubiquiti and MikroTik equipment.

My home network started very small, then expanded. This of course affects some of the equipment choice (primarily my 24 port switch - in hindsight I should have got the PoE model.) 

My primary internet connection is a 1000/25 GPON fibre connection via an open access Network called Octotel. Unfortunately they do not offer higher upload speeds on their Gigabit Fibre lines (perhaps a better idea on GPON.)

My Core router is a RB4011iGS+RM. This has a static WAN IP. I then have a routed /29 range giving out addresses via 1 of my bridges. My USG (which runs my internal network), a RIPE Atlas Probe, and a Yealink W60P have static reservations on the MikroTik. Additionally, I have a wall point in my living room that will recieve a public address via DHCP. 

My core equipment is housed in a Linkbasic 9U cabinet. This houses a CAT6 patch panel, a US 24 switch, USG, US 8 60w Switch (Used for 3 x G3 bullet cams and a G3 Flex), Cloud Key Gen2 Plus, a Raspberry Pi running Pihole (for select devices), a Ripe Atlas Probe, and a 2000VAS UPS. The provider's ONT (Dasan H665) is situated in my bedroom at the front of the house where the fibre terminates. This is remotely powered via PoE injector and splitter and a Cat6 cable run to the cabinet. This bugged me initially (was before the network ambitions), but I've grown to like it. If there is a problem with the fibre I can easily see LED status without needing to get a ladder and look in the cabinet. The SFP module connected to the 24 port switch is purely for Dude Monitoring on the 4011 - entirely unnecessary, but if not, why not.