08/20/2017
My First Unifi Video Setup with Raspberry Pi Monitor
Description

I was looking for a home video solution where I didnt have to pay a subscription fee to record video. My friend recommended Unifi. After some research and help from the forum, I purchased and installed the following:

Ubiquiti Networks UniFi G3 Series 2MP Outdoor Bullet Camera (5-Pack)

Ubiquiti Networks UniFi G3 Series 1080p Dome Camera

Ubiquiti Networks UniFi UVC-NVR with 500GB HDD

Ubiquiti Networks EdgeSwitch 8-Port 150-Watt Managed PoE+ Gigabit Switch with SFP

Ubiquiti Networks TC-PRO TOUGHCable PRO Level 1 Outdoor CAT5e Cable (1000')

Ubiquiti Networks TOUGHCable Connectors (Pack of 100)

After watching countless videos on youtube, the install went relativly easy. I am a programmer by day so the IT background helped.

setup.png

Since the NVR doesn't support HDMI or VGA out, I found a thread here on using a raspberry pi to output to HDMI. I dug out an old raspberry pi 2 Model B, tweaked the code, added a background and I now have a 24/7 monitor for my office:

rPi-unifi.png

Code to run Raspberri Pi Monitors:

#! /bin/sh
# /etc/init.d/play6ubntcams

### BEGIN INIT INFO
# Provides:          play6ubntcams
# Required-Start:    $remote_fs $syslog
# Required-Stop:     $remote_fs $syslog
# Default-Start:     2 3 4 5
# Default-Stop:      0 1 6
# Short-Description: Loads a matrix of 6 RTSP streams
# Description:       Loads a matrix of 6 RTSP streams
### END INIT INFO

# Carry out specific functions when asked to by the system
case "$1" in
  start)
    echo "Starting the 6-Camera Matrix"
    echo "To configure the matrix, run 'sudo nano /etc/init.d/play6ubntcams'" 

# Set the RTSP URIs here for each camera.
    # You can also modify the size of the windows for each stream by editing the --win parameter (XStart YStart XEnd YEnd)

screen -dmS row1col1 sh -c 'omxplayer --win "0 0 637 375" -n -1 rtsp://url1; exec bash'