Reply
New Member
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎07-18-2016
Kudos: 2
Accepted Solution

AP-AC-Pro does not Upgrade from 3.8.3.6587 to 3.9.3.7537

[ Edited ]

I've tried custom upgrade and upgrade button on controller 5.5.24 with no luck...   Both say upgrading and when finished it indicates using version 3.8.3.6587.

 

I know it must be a stupid mistake on my part, BUT I can't figure it out!

 

What am I missing?   Thanks

 


Accepted Solutions
SuperUser
Posts: 15,858
Registered: ‎06-18-2010
Kudos: 4890
Solutions: 1676

Re: AP-AC-Pro does not Upgrade from 3.8.3.6587 to 3.9.3.7537

Take the AP to the switch, and connect it with short pre-tested cables. Use the Upgrade button in the controller.

If that doesn't work, reset the AP, re-adopt it, try again.

If that doesn't work, use the manual SCP copy and local upgrade method:

https://help.ubnt.com/hc/en-us/articles/204910064-UniFi-Changing-the-Firmware-of-a-UniFi-Device#loca...
I did it my way .... Man Happy

View solution in original post


All Replies
SuperUser
Posts: 15,858
Registered: ‎06-18-2010
Kudos: 4890
Solutions: 1676

Re: AP-AC-Pro does not Upgrade from 3.8.3.6587 to 3.9.3.7537

[ Edited ]

5.5.25? or 5.5.26?

When pressing the Upgrade button, does the pop-up indicate that you will be updating to 3.9.3.7537?

Did you set a static IP address on your AP, and forget to also designate Gateway IP, netmask and DNS settings?  Either fully specify the required IP information, so that your APs have Internet access (the download comes from the Internet when firmware is 'pushed' to a controller version), or leave your APs on DHCP, and the required information will be set for you.

I did it my way .... Man Happy
New Member
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎07-18-2016
Kudos: 2

Re: AP-AC-Pro does not Upgrade from 3.8.3.6587 to 3.9.3.7537

[ Edited ]

Sorry my fault - controller version 5.5.24

 

dhcp - using pfSense with static map and unbound resolver 

Have net mask set /24

ie. all settings seem to be correct

Speed on iPhone: 209 Mbps down and 99 Mbps up

Have internet connection

Can ping dl.ubnt.com

 

Used this address to do the custom update: 

https://dl.ubnt.com/unifi/firmware/U7PG2/3.9.3.7537/BZ.qca956x.v3.9.3.7537.171013.1101.bin 

The process worked as expected...  [UPGRADING] on controller, device display

It then indicated [CONNECTED] and it was..

 

But did not upgrade the firmware!

 

Then on the controller I used the Upgrade button and confirmed "Are you sure you want to upgrade xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx from 3.8.3.6587 to 3.9.3.7537?" - The device indicate [UPGRADING]...

It then indicated [CONNECTED] and it was..

 

But did not upgrade the firmware!

 

What did I do wrong?

 

 

 

SuperUser
Posts: 15,858
Registered: ‎06-18-2010
Kudos: 4890
Solutions: 1676

Re: AP-AC-Pro does not Upgrade from 3.8.3.6587 to 3.9.3.7537

Turn off Automatic Firmware Upgrade, if you have that enabled. It will down-grade you to the firmware that originally shipped with the controller.
I did it my way .... Man Happy
New Member
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎07-18-2016
Kudos: 2

Re: AP-AC-Pro does not Upgrade from 3.8.3.6587 to 3.9.3.7537

It was disabled, but restarted the pro again and tried the upgrade again - no luck

SuperUser
Posts: 15,858
Registered: ‎06-18-2010
Kudos: 4890
Solutions: 1676

Re: AP-AC-Pro does not Upgrade from 3.8.3.6587 to 3.9.3.7537

Take the AP to the switch, and connect it with short pre-tested cables. Use the Upgrade button in the controller.

If that doesn't work, reset the AP, re-adopt it, try again.

If that doesn't work, use the manual SCP copy and local upgrade method:

https://help.ubnt.com/hc/en-us/articles/204910064-UniFi-Changing-the-Firmware-of-a-UniFi-Device#loca...
I did it my way .... Man Happy
Veteran Member
Posts: 4,914
Registered: ‎09-26-2013
Kudos: 1278
Solutions: 349

Re: AP-AC-Pro does not Upgrade from 3.8.3.6587 to 3.9.3.7537

@delstel- it's possible that your APs don't have the correct time set on them, so the change from http to https is what is stopping the upgrade from happening.

 

Try making the custom download link http:// instead of https:// and see what happens.

 

Failing that, SSH into one of the APs and issue an upgrade command with the URL of the firmware, and see what the error message at the end is.

New Member
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎07-18-2016
Kudos: 2

Re: AP-AC-Pro does not Upgrade from 3.8.3.6587 to 3.9.3.7537

Thanks,

 

It’s already attached to the switch for POE.  I’ll reset the ap and readopt and then use scp method if the reset doesn’t work.  

New Member
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎07-18-2016
Kudos: 2

Re: AP-AC-Pro does not Upgrade from 3.8.3.6587 to 3.9.3.7537

Thanks for the help.  The scp method worked great, now at 3.9.3.

 

Thank god I learned the linus cli after I retired!!!

New Member
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎09-29-2015
Kudos: 5

Re: AP-AC-Pro does not Upgrade from 3.8.3.6587 to 3.9.3.7537

I have the same issue happening on 3.8.6.6650 to 3.9.3.7537.  I click update and it acts like it is upgrading an AP but then does not. I have 3 AP's that are all not upgrading.  

CONTROLLER VERSION
5.5.24

 

I did the SCP upgrade path and worked fine. Makes me think there may be a bug in the current controller. 

Veteran Member
Posts: 4,914
Registered: ‎09-26-2013
Kudos: 1278
Solutions: 349

Re: AP-AC-Pro does not Upgrade from 3.8.3.6587 to 3.9.3.7537

@egarrison  - it's most likely the time setting on your AP not allowing https connections.

Reply