Reply
Emerging Member
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎12-15-2014
Kudos: 3
Solutions: 1
Accepted Solution

Amazon DASH buttons / DHCP issue

I purchaed 2 Amazon DASH buttons a few months ago and have not been able to configure them to work with my Unifi setup.  I put them aside and figured there may be an issue with the devices themselves, but upon further troubleshooting, it appears as if something related to the UAP-AC-PRO's is actually the issue.  My setup:

 

Xfinity Gig Residential

ER-POE5 (v1.9.1)

US-8-150W (3.7.39.6089)

2 x UAP-AC-PRO (3.7.40.6115 - per the discussion regarding VMware fusion DHCP issue)

Cloud Key (5.4.11 / firmware 0.6.0)

 

I've had the controller client screen open along side the Amazon Android App when attemting to set them up and both buttons will briefly register and show a dhcp (or a reservation I set up per MAC address), but both will ultimately timeout and result in a setup error.

 

I borrowed an Aruba IAP-205 from work last week and connected it to an open port on the US-8-150W with the same port configuration as both UAP-AC-PRO's.  I created an additional SSID on the Aruba and was able to configure the DASH buttons with no issues whatsoever.

 

Thanks.

 


Accepted Solutions
Emerging Member
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎12-15-2014
Kudos: 3
Solutions: 1

Re: Amazon DASH buttons / DHCP issue

Update:

 

The issue appears to have been DNS related.  I noticed my DNS forwarding settings were not configured correctly.  I entered the physical LAN interface there and made sure the switch and both UAP's were configured to use the router LAN address for DNS, and also removed Google DNS as secondary entries from all devices.  Once that was successfully applied, the DASH buttons both completed setup successfully.  

 

View solution in original post


All Replies
Established Member
Posts: 2,383
Registered: ‎04-21-2015
Kudos: 327
Solutions: 101

Re: Amazon DASH buttons / DHCP issue

[ Edited ]

Who provides DHCP for the clients? Did you try to downgrade firmware on the AP (just for test)?

Thanks,
Myky
CWNA
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don`t blame the device as it`s always doing what you have asked it to do, this is not always the same as what you want.
Emerging Member
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎12-15-2014
Kudos: 3
Solutions: 1

Re: Amazon DASH buttons / DHCP issue

Hi Myky,

 

DHCP is provided by the ER-POE5.  I first attempted the setup on the previous firmware release 3.7.37.6065 bundled with 5.4.11 with no luck.

 

Thanks.

Established Member
Posts: 2,383
Registered: ‎04-21-2015
Kudos: 327
Solutions: 101

Re: Amazon DASH buttons / DHCP issue

[ Edited ]

Can you remove reservation and just use as a traditional DHCP client. Can you also get a DHCP server logs?

Thanks,
Myky
CWNA
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don`t blame the device as it`s always doing what you have asked it to do, this is not always the same as what you want.
Emerging Member
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎12-15-2014
Kudos: 3
Solutions: 1

Re: Amazon DASH buttons / DHCP issue

I've tried it both ways numerous times with thr same results.
Emerging Member
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎12-15-2014
Kudos: 3
Solutions: 1

Re: Amazon DASH buttons / DHCP issue

I'll try to capture the logs as well.

Thanks.
Emerging Member
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎12-15-2014
Kudos: 3
Solutions: 1

Re: Amazon DASH buttons / DHCP issue

Here is the output of the dhcpd log file with the reservation enabled:

 

admin@Casa-de-Stallion:~$ tail /var/log/user/dhcpd

Feb 21 20:48:09 Casa-de-Stallion dhcpd: DHCPREQUEST for 192.168.2.44 (192.168.2.1) from ac:63:be:7a:1c:87 via eth1

Feb 21 20:48:09 Casa-de-Stallion dhcpd: DHCPACK on 192.168.2.44 to ac:63:be:7a:1c:87 via eth1

admin@Casa-de-Stallion:~$

 

 

And without a reservation:

 

Feb 21 20:52:06 Casa-de-Stallion dhcpd: DHCPDISCOVER from ac:63:be:7a:1c:87 via eth1

Feb 21 20:52:07 Casa-de-Stallion dhcpd: DHCPOFFER on 192.168.2.207 to ac:63:be:7a:1c:87 via eth1

Feb 21 20:52:08 Casa-de-Stallion dhcpd: DHCPDISCOVER from ac:63:be:7a:1c:87 via eth1

Feb 21 20:52:08 Casa-de-Stallion dhcpd: DHCPOFFER on 192.168.2.207 to ac:63:be:7a:1c:87 via eth1

Feb 21 20:52:08 Casa-de-Stallion dhcpd: DHCPREQUEST for 192.168.2.207 (192.168.2.1) from ac:63:be:7a:1c:87 via eth1

Feb 21 20:52:08 Casa-de-Stallion dhcpd: DHCPACK on 192.168.2.207 to ac:63:be:7a:1c:87 via eth1

 

The setup process results in a error either way.

 

 

Emerging Member
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎12-15-2014
Kudos: 3
Solutions: 1

Re: Amazon DASH buttons / DHCP issue

Update:

 

The issue appears to have been DNS related.  I noticed my DNS forwarding settings were not configured correctly.  I entered the physical LAN interface there and made sure the switch and both UAP's were configured to use the router LAN address for DNS, and also removed Google DNS as secondary entries from all devices.  Once that was successfully applied, the DASH buttons both completed setup successfully.  

 

New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-07-2018

Re: Amazon DASH buttons / DHCP issue

I have the same problem, but I can't get through your solution. Can you explane your work-a-round?

Thanks,
TBH
Emerging Member
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎12-15-2014
Kudos: 3
Solutions: 1

Re: Amazon DASH buttons / DHCP issue

I actually don't use the DASH buttons any longer.  As infrequent as I used them, for some reason I would have to set them up again before each use.  I didn't really try to troubleshoot anything after that as I have ~40 other wireless devices give or take and have no issues with any of them, so I'm blaming this on the DASH buttons for now (not to mention the virtual DASH buttons in the Amazon app are sufficient for me).

 

If you would elaborate on your issue I'd be more than happy to help if I'm able.

 

Reply