Reply
Member
Posts: 268
Registered: ‎10-24-2013
Kudos: 20

Best setting for warehouse

[ Edited ]

We have a couple hundred UniFi AP=AC Mesh Pros in a warehouse and are using Zebra TC70 scanners. We have tried to isolate the connectivity issues and have been trying to optimize the UniFi setting but nothing seems to be working.

 

Does anyone have any experience or advice on what options  (client and AP side) should be used to prevent the connectivity issues?

 

TC70 spec sheet:

https://www.zebra.com/us/en/products/spec-sheets/mobile-computers/handheld/tc70.html

 

Thank you in advance.

 

Senior Member
Posts: 13,111
Registered: ‎08-04-2017
Kudos: 2229
Solutions: 643

Re: Best setting for warehouse

Hello @nilesf,

 

Could you describe the connectivity issues?

 

 

Regards,

Glenn R.

Cloud Hosted Controllers | Glenn R. | UniFi Installation/Easy Update Scripts | UniFi-Video Installation/Easy Update Scripts | UniFi-VoIP Installation Scripts
USG-4-PRO • USG
USW-48-500W • USW-24-POE-250W 2x • USW-16-POE-150W 3x • USW-24 • USW-8-150W • USW-8
UAP XG • UAP-SHD • UAP-HD • UAP-NanoHD • UAP-AC-PRO 2x • UAP-AC-LITE • UAP-AC-IW • UAP-AC-M
UCK-G2-PLUS • UCK-G2 • UCK
Established Member
Posts: 2,248
Registered: ‎04-21-2015
Kudos: 306
Solutions: 98

Re: Best setting for warehouse

What exactly is happening with the Zebra's handheld scanner connectivity?
Thanks,
Myky
CWNA
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don`t blame the device as it`s always doing what you have asked it to do, this is not always the same as what you want.
Member
Posts: 268
Registered: ‎10-24-2013
Kudos: 20

Re: Best setting for warehouse

They simply drop the connection and then reconnect. So this disrupts the scanning process and the scan has to start all over. It is random as to when and where this occurs within the warehouse.

 

We have 5Ghz turned off on both sides and all radio setting are their defaults. The TC70 does support 802.11r and we just turned on Fast Roaming yesterday. So we are still waiting for the results on that change.

Senior Member
Posts: 13,111
Registered: ‎08-04-2017
Kudos: 2229
Solutions: 643

Re: Best setting for warehouse

Hello @nilesf,

 

Please keep us posted.

Do you perhaps have Minimum RSSI turned on?

 

 

Regards,

Glenn R.

Cloud Hosted Controllers | Glenn R. | UniFi Installation/Easy Update Scripts | UniFi-Video Installation/Easy Update Scripts | UniFi-VoIP Installation Scripts
USG-4-PRO • USG
USW-48-500W • USW-24-POE-250W 2x • USW-16-POE-150W 3x • USW-24 • USW-8-150W • USW-8
UAP XG • UAP-SHD • UAP-HD • UAP-NanoHD • UAP-AC-PRO 2x • UAP-AC-LITE • UAP-AC-IW • UAP-AC-M
UCK-G2-PLUS • UCK-G2 • UCK
Established Member
Posts: 2,248
Registered: ‎04-21-2015
Kudos: 306
Solutions: 98

Re: Best setting for warehouse

Does the disconnect happen when the device roam or stationary, when it is idle or actively send/receive data? I would disable 2.4 instead and use 5GHz.

Thanks,
Myky
CWNA
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don`t blame the device as it`s always doing what you have asked it to do, this is not always the same as what you want.
Member
Posts: 268
Registered: ‎10-24-2013
Kudos: 20

Re: Best setting for warehouse

RSSI option is not checked

Member
Posts: 268
Registered: ‎10-24-2013
Kudos: 20

Re: Best setting for warehouse

Yes, mostly when roaming.

Established Member
Posts: 2,248
Registered: ‎04-21-2015
Kudos: 306
Solutions: 98

Re: Best setting for warehouse

[ Edited ]

If your SSID is set with PSK auth then disable “r”. It will introduce you headache rather than benefit.

Thanks,
Myky
CWNA
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don`t blame the device as it`s always doing what you have asked it to do, this is not always the same as what you want.
Member
Posts: 268
Registered: ‎10-24-2013
Kudos: 20

Re: Best setting for warehouse

When you say, disable "R" are you referring to Fast Roaming or 802.11r on the scanners and/or AP?
Established Member
Posts: 2,248
Registered: ‎04-21-2015
Kudos: 306
Solutions: 98

Re: Best setting for warehouse

@nilesf yes indeed. For more info regarding the roaming time please refer to the KB below:

http://www.revolutionwifi.net/revolutionwifi/2012/02/wi-fi-roaming-analysis-part-2-roaming.html

Thanks,
Myky
CWNA
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don`t blame the device as it`s always doing what you have asked it to do, this is not always the same as what you want.
Regular Member
Posts: 497
Registered: ‎09-13-2017
Kudos: 89
Solutions: 31

Re: Best setting for warehouse

A premise with "hundreds" of AC-M's will need some careful setup.

 

You need to tell us more about the setup, config, channels etc etc before any serious advice can be offered.

Member
Posts: 268
Registered: ‎10-24-2013
Kudos: 20

Re: Best setting for warehouse

As I mentioned in my post we just turned on Fast Roaming this past Friday as we had connectivity issue and hoped that this might resolve the issue.
Member
Posts: 268
Registered: ‎10-24-2013
Kudos: 20

Re: Best setting for warehouse

Currently, we have 5Ghz turned off. The 2.4Ghz radios are set to their defaults setting on both sides (e.g. Channels Width, Channels, transmitter power). Just running the Out-of-Box-Experience at this point. UniFi Controller is running 5.32. AP firmware is 4.0.14.
Established Member
Posts: 2,248
Registered: ‎04-21-2015
Kudos: 306
Solutions: 98

Re: Best setting for warehouse

@nilesf you cannot leave 100s AP on its default settings (especially with TX auto power). I surprised you haven't done a site survey for such a huge setup. We can advise you the "best practices" for wireless but l doubt it will work correctly due to your mass wireless deployment. 

Thanks,
Myky
CWNA
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don`t blame the device as it`s always doing what you have asked it to do, this is not always the same as what you want.
Regular Member
Posts: 497
Registered: ‎09-13-2017
Kudos: 89
Solutions: 31

Re: Best setting for warehouse

@nilesf

 

So you had this all working fine, then had an issue so turned on fast roaming

 

OR

 

This has never worked and you are trying to work out what to do to get it to work?

 

What would be helpful...

 

Floor plans with AP locations

screenshot of system config / network config from controller.

You are running 5.9.32? Any reason for running the beta controller?

Screen shots from some of the APs showing utilisation.

RF screenshots from some APs showing channels

 

 

Member
Posts: 268
Registered: ‎10-24-2013
Kudos: 20

Re: Best setting for warehouse

Was never working. We have the APs face down to the floor (center aisle) about 50-60ft apart. Perimeter, again about 50-60ft apart. I will try to get screenshots tomorrow.
Regular Member
Posts: 497
Registered: ‎09-13-2017
Kudos: 89
Solutions: 31

Re: Best setting for warehouse

[ Edited ]

How did you establish AP positions, number required etc?

 

It sounds like you need a wireless engineer to survey properly and set this up. What country are you in?

Member
Posts: 268
Registered: ‎10-24-2013
Kudos: 20

Re: Best setting for warehouse

In the US. What system and network configurations specifically are you looking for?
Established Member
Posts: 1,211
Registered: ‎02-15-2012
Kudos: 978
Solutions: 27

Re: Best setting for warehouse

[ Edited ]

@nilesf

 

I have some questions:

 

  1. Why did you turn off 5 GHz radios?
  2. Why did you chose to go with UAP-AC-M-PROs horizontaly mounted on the roof?
  3. How high are these APs mounted?

I ask because, from what I've seen so far in this thread, both your settings and AP selection/arrangement is conducive to connectivity issues. Tweaking the settings may be of help but chances are it will not be enough. 

 

With regards to the most common cause of roaming issues, 802.11r, and whether or not it can help please take a look at this post: https://community.ubnt.com/t5/UniFi-Wireless/Wireless-LAN-Roaming-FAQ/td-p/1825118

 

Omar 

 Omar Vazquez - Consultant | Trainer
Dot11 Pro
                     

Reply