Scheduled maintenance: Community available only in read-only mode until 6:00 AM (PT)
Kudos: 1
Accepted Solution

Broken Controller Moving to CloudKey from Local Controller on Mac

I messed up the process of moving my controller from a local computer to a cloudkey and now I can't get a controller running at all. I'm not a professional, so please forgive me.  This is going to make me look like a complete idiot.  Up until now, the ubiquiti technology had been idiot proof, but now I've broken things and can't fix it.  Any advise is welcomed.

I was running 4.8.18 on a local controller running on a mac.  I started plugged in the new cloud key and followed instructions to get the system to 5.10.21.0 on the cloud key.  

I was working with an online chat tech and started trying to follow these instructions which he provided

https://help.ubnt.com/hc/en-us/articles/204952144-UniFi-How-to-Create-and-Restore-a-Backup

I generated the backup, used method 1 to start restoring the controller, started working on changing the INform Address and just as I was about to execute step 5, the tech told me this wouldn't work because of the incompatible controller versions on the local controller and the cloud key.