Upcoming Maintenance Alert:

The UBNT Community will be upgraded at 5pm MDT on April 25th. During this time the community forums will be set to read-only status.

Learn more

×
Reply
New Member
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎04-28-2014
Solutions: 1

Cannot Upgrade Device

I just upgraded my controller from 3.x to 5.6 

 

After configuring the new site, I imported settings from old controller. 

 

Got All AP's connected. Tried to upgrade

Says upgrading then comes back with same version

 

Tried upgrading via SSH/SCP using syswrapper.sh upgrade2 &

That runs, reboots but does not upgrade. 

 

Finally. I reset the APs back to default. 

 

Ran mca-cli shell / set-inform x.x.x.x:8080/inform

 

to Add APs back to controller. 

 

Ran upgrade (before pushing out any settings) devices reboots, still running same version. 

 

Can anyone help me with this? 

 

Running 

UniFi AP-LR
Version3.2.1.2601
SuperUser
Posts: 15,339
Registered: ‎06-18-2010
Kudos: 4603
Solutions: 1608

Re: Cannot Upgrade Device

[ Edited ]

Disable wireless on the AP. Try the upgrade again.

 

If you're trying the Custom Upgrade option, you have to change the URL link from https to http

Hi, I'm @flipper, member of the Ubiquiti Community, and I am Not a Bot
New Member
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎04-28-2014
Solutions: 1

Re: Cannot Upgrade Device

Under AP Configuration, WLANS

 

WLAN Group Off

Both Wireless Networks Overides set to Disabled. 

 

Saves Changes

 

Ran Upgrade -> Same thing, Starts Upgrading, then just reverts to Connected (Needs Upgrade)

 

Is there a version I should jump to 

 

3.2.1.2601 -> 3.8.6.6650

SuperUser
Posts: 15,339
Registered: ‎06-18-2010
Kudos: 4603
Solutions: 1608

Re: Cannot Upgrade Device

Verify all the steps you took when you tried the Local Upgrade:

https://help.ubnt.com/hc/en-us/articles/204910064-UniFi-Changing-the-Firmware-of-a-UniFi-Device#loca...

Specifically, which firmware file did you SCP over? Did you rename the file to 'fwupdate.bin'? We need to see step by step where this is failing.
Hi, I'm @flipper, member of the Ubiquiti Community, and I am Not a Bot
New Member
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎04-28-2014
Solutions: 1

Re: Cannot Upgrade Device

Yes

 

BZ2UAP, UAP-LR, UAP-OD, UAP-OD5 

 

Used above renamed as per instructions.  used filename.bin

SuperUser
Posts: 15,339
Registered: ‎06-18-2010
Kudos: 4603
Solutions: 1608

Re: Cannot Upgrade Device

[ Edited ]

It needs to be fwupdate.bin, non filename.bin

 

Will a TFTP update work?

 

https://help.ubnt.com/hc/en-us/articles/204910124-UniFi-TFTP-Recovery-for-Bricked-Access-Points

Hi, I'm @flipper, member of the Ubiquiti Community, and I am Not a Bot
New Member
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎04-28-2014
Solutions: 1

Re: Cannot Upgrade Device

I will have to try that when back in the office. Monday

 

thanks for your help

SuperUser
Posts: 15,339
Registered: ‎06-18-2010
Kudos: 4603
Solutions: 1608

Re: Cannot Upgrade Device

Did you leave all your APs on DHCP? Or, did you set a static IP on each? If you set a static IP, did you remember to give the APs a valid gateway IP and valid DNS settings?

How many APs in total? Are they all UAP-LRs?
Hi, I'm @flipper, member of the Ubiquiti Community, and I am Not a Bot
New Member
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎04-28-2014
Solutions: 1

Re: Cannot Upgrade Device

We use and EdgeMax to power/route the APs

 

Each AP via Controller:

Configuration -> Network, Using DHCP (assume this then points to EdgeMax) since under EdgeMax -> services -> DHCP server I see our WLAN Prod & Guest networks. AND I see a third subnet with 3 statis IPs

 

The static are the AP's.

 

Should the Router/Subnet in AP DHCP server config match the LAN Network on the controller? On the controller the only Network We have is LAN and Gateway subnet is same as Controller (server) and EdgeMax but not the same as DHCP server for these AP's

New Member
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎04-28-2014
Solutions: 1

Re: Cannot Upgrade Device

Under Each AP configuration-> Network -> Using DHCP

 

The AP's are configured on the EdgeRouter DHCP service w/ reserved static IP addressed.  Same for each WLAN network. They are both configured on EdgeRouter for DHCP subnets.

 

Neither WLAN is showing up on an wireless device.

 

SSID

Guest -> does not appear

SSID

Prod -> Not broadcasted also is not accesible to join.

 

Users that already were joined to both network, have the SSID/pwd already configured. So ideally it would have just reconnected. But something else is going on. Wireles is enabled for both WLANS on the controller.

SuperUser
Posts: 15,339
Registered: ‎06-18-2010
Kudos: 4603
Solutions: 1608

Re: Cannot Upgrade Device

SSH into an AP.

ping dl.ubnt.com

what does that return?

Can we get some screen captures of all your network equipment and how it all interconnects?
Hi, I'm @flipper, member of the Ubiquiti Community, and I am Not a Bot
New Member
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎04-28-2014
Solutions: 1

Re: Cannot Upgrade Device

I cannot ping the url. I can ping the edgemax and the firewall.

 

If the AP's are set to DHCP and get their DHCP static address from EdgeMax. Where would the DNS settings be set on the EdgeMax for this?

 

I rather not put my network info on this public forum.

 

Even with the networking issue above (DNS) the AP's are not broadcasting at all.

 

With the same settings pushed out, no one is reconnecting to SSIDs

 

and the WLAN that is broadcasted does not show up as an available network.

SuperUser
Posts: 15,339
Registered: ‎06-18-2010
Kudos: 4603
Solutions: 1608

Re: Cannot Upgrade Device

They're probably not broadcasting because they need an upgrade to work with the newer controller.

They need internet access for most firmware upgrades that aren't embedded in the controller.

None of that should stop the local upgrade option from working, though.

Please attempt the local upgrade again and capture the screen output and post it here.

If you can't post information here, start a chat session with UBNT support, and get them to work through your issues.

Good Luck!
Hi, I'm @flipper, member of the Ubiquiti Community, and I am Not a Bot
New Member
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎04-28-2014
Solutions: 1

Re: Cannot Upgrade Device

Well That would explain everything Man Happy

 

I have a support ticket opened.

 

thanks for your help, really appreciate your suggestions.

Reply