Highlighted
Accepted Solution

Design advice

Hi

Apologies - I'm a Noob to Unifi in the UK so I may ask some really obvious questions but would appreciate some help. 

So the parents had a new house built and the cowboy construction firm turned nasty and left the wiring in a complete mess amongst other things uncompleted, put a BT master socket in a roof crawlspace (!) with the Cat 6 not even punched down to a patch pannel. However,  on a positive note they did install some WAP AC lites (2) in the house, connected via POE injectors to the BT router. 

Only problem is that once I clear up the mess there will be 7 cat 6 lines, 2 sonos connects, a IP cam NVR, 2 WAPs that need to be plugged in. So I just wanted to clarify what to buy. Also whether sky-Q will play nice with the setup?

I'm guessing a Switch 16, and a cloud key. Must I get a gateway? (guessing my BT router can do that job?) and that SKY-Q uses its own channel to connect to mini-boxes and that the main box could be connected via cat-6.  I'm aiming for a low maintainence system! :-D

thanks in advance

Accepted Solutions
Kudos: 210
Solutions: 28

Re: Design advice

Oh okay. Sorry about that. In the States we have the same thing. All in one routers and modems. thanks for letting me know what that was.

You don't need the gateway as well. If you were to get it for the statistics that it can do, which again can be very helpful in figuring out issues on the network sometimes, then you would put your BT in bridge mode, if it can do that and then it would just pass traffic from telephone lines to the USG and the USG would be the DHCP server for your network. But if you are not interested in all the stats and such, don't worry about it. I would just turn off the wifi portion of it so the controller can use the AP's you have instead. (Not sure if you have that BT wifi off yet or not)

View solution in original post

Oh thats a terrible catch!