Reply
Highlighted
Member
Posts: 177
Registered: ‎10-24-2017
Kudos: 86
Solutions: 9
Accepted Solution

Enabling access to printer

I want my guests and few other LANs I have access to printer on a different LAN/VLAN.

I can not put a fixed IP address to the printer.

The problem is - nowhere it's allowing me to setup access via MAC or hostname, even in firewall - LAN_IN for example. 

Is there a way? Once again - I can't put a static IP address to the printer.

Did the answer helped you ? if yes, i would love your kudos on it

Accepted Solutions
Emerging Member
Posts: 79
Registered: ‎11-19-2014
Kudos: 45
Solutions: 5

Re: Enabling access to printer

@bmninada

 

Can you not use a static on the printer due to limitations on the printer? or because of a network setup challenge? 

 

You could but the printer on its own network, and allow guest communication to that network/subnet? Without understanding why the printer needs to be dynamic, its hard to give solutions. whats the senario you have? 

View solution in original post

Emerging Member
Posts: 79
Registered: ‎11-19-2014
Kudos: 45
Solutions: 5

Re: Enabling access to printer

Try putting it on its own network with a subnet of /31 that will only give it one 1 every time. Then make Rules to allow access across other networks. 

 

as for your errors, that sounds more like blocked ports/protocols? Did you have any filtering applied to the reserved IP? 

View solution in original post


All Replies
Emerging Member
Posts: 79
Registered: ‎11-19-2014
Kudos: 45
Solutions: 5

Re: Enabling access to printer

@bmninada

 

Can you not use a static on the printer due to limitations on the printer? or because of a network setup challenge? 

 

You could but the printer on its own network, and allow guest communication to that network/subnet? Without understanding why the printer needs to be dynamic, its hard to give solutions. whats the senario you have? 

Member
Posts: 177
Registered: ‎10-24-2017
Kudos: 86
Solutions: 9

Re: Enabling access to printer

The printer can't take a static IP, unfortunately. That's why asking.

It's an old printer but there's a HUGE sentimental value attached to it in my family. So hate to replace it. Its currently connected to a USG-8 port with LAN = WORK_LAN. My guests and another network is in GUEST_LAN and TRUST_LAN and for which wanted to give access to the printer. 

Did the answer helped you ? if yes, i would love your kudos on it
Emerging Member
Posts: 79
Registered: ‎11-19-2014
Kudos: 45
Solutions: 5

Re: Enabling access to printer

[ Edited ]

@bmninada

 

If the printer is the limitation of a static IP, you could assign it a fixed IP via the USG or other router. Then allow a firewall rule and add it as an exeption on the guest portal. 

Member
Posts: 177
Registered: ‎10-24-2017
Kudos: 86
Solutions: 9

Re: Enabling access to printer

[ Edited ]

That's the thing I tried but printer not connecting. Error messages in printer logs

- ERR xxx: SMB PROTCL FAIL

- ERR xxx: BOOTP PROTCL FAIL.

How on Earth its figuring out the router defined a static IP for it, no idea. I rebooted printer.

Did the answer helped you ? if yes, i would love your kudos on it
Emerging Member
Posts: 79
Registered: ‎11-19-2014
Kudos: 45
Solutions: 5

Re: Enabling access to printer

Try putting it on its own network with a subnet of /31 that will only give it one 1 every time. Then make Rules to allow access across other networks. 

 

as for your errors, that sounds more like blocked ports/protocols? Did you have any filtering applied to the reserved IP? 

Member
Posts: 177
Registered: ‎10-24-2017
Kudos: 86
Solutions: 9

Re: Enabling access to printer

No - nothing.

 

I think I will just go with new network and have just the printer in it. Create it like you said. Thanks a lot. That works for me.

Did the answer helped you ? if yes, i would love your kudos on it
New Member
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-26-2017

Re: Enabling access to printer

I've sorted this issue out by creating a seperate SSID and unticked APPLY GUEST POLICIES.

 

APPLYING GUEST POLICIES (Under - Wireless Network) blocks all the traffic to printers.

 

Dunno what your setup is but its basically firewall thing - as far as my understanding.

 

Matt

Reply