Kudos: 2

Help Configuring Controller and UAP AC Pro

Hi everyone,

I recently finished a remodel and have just installed my network equipment. Let me start by saying I am NOT a network pro and have limited knowledge about the fine tuning and details. I know enough to be dangerous (not really, LOL). I have googled a lot and gone through a lot of posts in the community which have been great, but now im at the point where I realize I have made some mistakes along the way, and alos not sure the best way to maximize my network. So here goes, looking forward to help from the community!

Equipment (all Ubiquiti UniFi):

- 2 UAP AC Pro's (Both wired directly to Switch)

- 1 USG

- 1 POE Switch-16 Port, 150W

- 1 Cloud Key

Below are some pics that may help and my controller configuration screen. My main questions are the following:

1. What settings should I use for channel width, transmit power and Minimum RSSI (for both UAP's)?

Airtime fairness is "ON", Band Steering to 5G is "ON", 

2. RF Scans to manually select channels. Sometimes the ones I select are used, other times Ive gotten the red box with the excalmation that says something like "X channel selected, but Y channel being utilized". Why is that?

3. Are my UAP's too close together? They are about 25 feet away from eachother. Devices are not easily switching over to the UAP that is closer and has a better signal.

4. My coverage outside is not very good (or as good as I expected), it is the same or worse than my old apple airport extreme (has a good 3 to 4 years on it). Speed is ok when connected, but connection comes and goes. Should I consider adding an outdoor UAP?

5. For some reason my iPhone drops the WiFi coverage constantly, especially when I move further away from the UAP it is connected to. Why is this and is there are fix? (I adjusted the 2G and 5G DTIM Period to "3" as suggested in other threads, but still not great staying connected at a distance)