Reply
New Member
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎04-19-2015
Accepted Solution

How To Track Signal Loss AP AC V2

Hello,

I have currently two AP AC V2 units in my house running Firmware 3.8.16.6786. Up until about a week ago did not seem to have any signal issue. Now on two computers, relatively close to each AP, I am getting random signal loss throughout the day, some to the point of no connection? Is there a way to see where the issue is starting? Not sure if it is a AP issue yet? I have restarted the AP's and still the same issue. 

 

Thanks JR 


Accepted Solutions
Senior Member
Posts: 23,958
Registered: ‎08-04-2017
Kudos: 4535
Solutions: 1179

Re: How To Track Signal Loss AP AC V2

Hello @gaspower,

 

Yeah, you can find that in the controller.

Devices > UAP > Tools

 


Regards,

Glenn R.

Cloud Hosted Controllers | Glenn R. | UniFi Installation/Easy Update Scripts | UniFi-Video Installation Scripts | UniFi-VoIP Installation Scripts
USG-XG-8 • USG-4-PRO • USG
US-XG-16 • US-48-500W • US-24-POE-250W 2x • US-16-POE-150W 3x • US-24 • US-8-150W • US-8
UAP XG • UAP-SHD • UAP-HD • UAP-NanoHD 2x • UAP-AC-PRO 2x • UAP-AC-LITE • UAP-AC-IW • UAP-AC-M • UAP-AC-M-PRO 2x
UAS-XG • UCK-G2-PLUS • UCK-G2 • UCK

View solution in original post


All Replies
Senior Member
Posts: 23,958
Registered: ‎08-04-2017
Kudos: 4535
Solutions: 1179

Re: How To Track Signal Loss AP AC V2

Hello @gaspower,

 

Could you post your system config?

Settings > Maintenance > Support Info > Show System Config

 

Are the perhaps any devices that could interfere with the signals?

 

 

Regards,

Glenn R.

Cloud Hosted Controllers | Glenn R. | UniFi Installation/Easy Update Scripts | UniFi-Video Installation Scripts | UniFi-VoIP Installation Scripts
USG-XG-8 • USG-4-PRO • USG
US-XG-16 • US-48-500W • US-24-POE-250W 2x • US-16-POE-150W 3x • US-24 • US-8-150W • US-8
UAP XG • UAP-SHD • UAP-HD • UAP-NanoHD 2x • UAP-AC-PRO 2x • UAP-AC-LITE • UAP-AC-IW • UAP-AC-M • UAP-AC-M-PRO 2x
UAS-XG • UCK-G2-PLUS • UCK-G2 • UCK
New Member
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎04-19-2015

Re: How To Track Signal Loss AP AC V2

Hello,

Yes, just added the image of the config.

 

Thank you for the assistance.

 

JR

systemConfig.png
Senior Member
Posts: 23,958
Registered: ‎08-04-2017
Kudos: 4535
Solutions: 1179

Re: How To Track Signal Loss AP AC V2

[ Edited ]

Hello @gaspower,

 

Are there devices that could interfere?

How far are the clients away from the UAP?

 

 

Disable the Uplink Connectivity Monitor

Settings > Site > Uplink Connectivity Monitor

 

Also apply the following Radio Settings

Devices > UAP > Config > Radios

 

2.4 GHz

Channel width: HT20

Chanel: 1/6/11 | Choose one of these channels, a RF scan will help you choose the most clean one.

Transmit Power: Low/Medium

 

5GHz

Channel width: VHT40 | Optional VHT80 might decrease wireless stability

Chanel: 36/44 | Optional (149/157) Choose one of these channels, a RF scan will help you choose the most clean one. Avoid using DFS Channels

Transmit Power: Medium/High

 

 

Regards,

Glenn R.

Cloud Hosted Controllers | Glenn R. | UniFi Installation/Easy Update Scripts | UniFi-Video Installation Scripts | UniFi-VoIP Installation Scripts
USG-XG-8 • USG-4-PRO • USG
US-XG-16 • US-48-500W • US-24-POE-250W 2x • US-16-POE-150W 3x • US-24 • US-8-150W • US-8
UAP XG • UAP-SHD • UAP-HD • UAP-NanoHD 2x • UAP-AC-PRO 2x • UAP-AC-LITE • UAP-AC-IW • UAP-AC-M • UAP-AC-M-PRO 2x
UAS-XG • UCK-G2-PLUS • UCK-G2 • UCK
New Member
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎04-19-2015

Re: How To Track Signal Loss AP AC V2

Hello,

Thank you I will try the suggestions. I do not really have anything in the way. The AP's are very close as the one I am having the most issue, the AP is right above on the second floor. You also mentioned a RF scan, is this a feature in the software?

 

Thank you

JR

Senior Member
Posts: 23,958
Registered: ‎08-04-2017
Kudos: 4535
Solutions: 1179

Re: How To Track Signal Loss AP AC V2

Hello @gaspower,

 

Yeah, you can find that in the controller.

Devices > UAP > Tools

 


Regards,

Glenn R.

Cloud Hosted Controllers | Glenn R. | UniFi Installation/Easy Update Scripts | UniFi-Video Installation Scripts | UniFi-VoIP Installation Scripts
USG-XG-8 • USG-4-PRO • USG
US-XG-16 • US-48-500W • US-24-POE-250W 2x • US-16-POE-150W 3x • US-24 • US-8-150W • US-8
UAP XG • UAP-SHD • UAP-HD • UAP-NanoHD 2x • UAP-AC-PRO 2x • UAP-AC-LITE • UAP-AC-IW • UAP-AC-M • UAP-AC-M-PRO 2x
UAS-XG • UCK-G2-PLUS • UCK-G2 • UCK
Highlighted
New Member
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎04-19-2015

Re: How To Track Signal Loss AP AC V2

Thank you very much for the great help.

 

JR

New Member
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎04-19-2015

Re: How To Track Signal Loss AP AC V2

Hello,

Sorry to ask, but I do not seem to have the RF test feature in my admin? Is this a dded feature I need to install.


Thanks Jr

Senior Member
Posts: 23,958
Registered: ‎08-04-2017
Kudos: 4535
Solutions: 1179

Re: How To Track Signal Loss AP AC V2

Hello @gaspower,

 

Hmmm... Might not be available for the UAP AC..

What do you see?

 


Regards,

Glenn R.

Cloud Hosted Controllers | Glenn R. | UniFi Installation/Easy Update Scripts | UniFi-Video Installation Scripts | UniFi-VoIP Installation Scripts
USG-XG-8 • USG-4-PRO • USG
US-XG-16 • US-48-500W • US-24-POE-250W 2x • US-16-POE-150W 3x • US-24 • US-8-150W • US-8
UAP XG • UAP-SHD • UAP-HD • UAP-NanoHD 2x • UAP-AC-PRO 2x • UAP-AC-LITE • UAP-AC-IW • UAP-AC-M • UAP-AC-M-PRO 2x
UAS-XG • UCK-G2-PLUS • UCK-G2 • UCK
New Member
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎04-19-2015

Re: How To Track Signal Loss AP AC V2

Hello,

 

Attached a screen shot of the admin.

 

Thanks Jr

Capture.PNG
Senior Member
Posts: 23,958
Registered: ‎08-04-2017
Kudos: 4535
Solutions: 1179

Re: How To Track Signal Loss AP AC V2

[ Edited ]

Hello @gaspower,


Skip the RF scan, seems like it's not available for your UAP..

 

 

Regards,

Glenn R.

Cloud Hosted Controllers | Glenn R. | UniFi Installation/Easy Update Scripts | UniFi-Video Installation Scripts | UniFi-VoIP Installation Scripts
USG-XG-8 • USG-4-PRO • USG
US-XG-16 • US-48-500W • US-24-POE-250W 2x • US-16-POE-150W 3x • US-24 • US-8-150W • US-8
UAP XG • UAP-SHD • UAP-HD • UAP-NanoHD 2x • UAP-AC-PRO 2x • UAP-AC-LITE • UAP-AC-IW • UAP-AC-M • UAP-AC-M-PRO 2x
UAS-XG • UCK-G2-PLUS • UCK-G2 • UCK
Regular Member
Posts: 308
Registered: ‎10-16-2017
Kudos: 33
Solutions: 5

Re: How To Track Signal Loss AP AC V2

[ Edited ]

you are logged in as site admin? These screenshot is for UAP-AC pro, but it should be in the same menu. 

 

Edit:

never seen EOL pending. What does the yellow triangle shows with mouse over? 

best regards
Torsten

ChannelScan.JPG
SuperUser
Posts: 13,896
Registered: ‎10-06-2013
Kudos: 4668
Solutions: 1058

Re: How To Track Signal Loss AP AC V2

Its says UAP AC v2 which was the square AP and is an EOL model. Don't mistake it for the 2nd Gen UAP-AC models

UK Comms & Links Engineer.


Come on you lot, Feel free to 'Mark as Solution' At least click the Kudos button. Thanks.


Top Solution Authors Leaderboard
New Member
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎04-19-2015

Re: How To Track Signal Loss AP AC V2

Hello,

OK, thank you. All seems to be working fine now. I do not have the "Tools" tab.

 

Thanks Jr

Senior Member
Posts: 23,958
Registered: ‎08-04-2017
Kudos: 4535
Solutions: 1179

Re: How To Track Signal Loss AP AC V2

Hello @gaspower,

 

Right, thats because it's not available for your UAP model.

 


Regards,

Glenn R.

Cloud Hosted Controllers | Glenn R. | UniFi Installation/Easy Update Scripts | UniFi-Video Installation Scripts | UniFi-VoIP Installation Scripts
USG-XG-8 • USG-4-PRO • USG
US-XG-16 • US-48-500W • US-24-POE-250W 2x • US-16-POE-150W 3x • US-24 • US-8-150W • US-8
UAP XG • UAP-SHD • UAP-HD • UAP-NanoHD 2x • UAP-AC-PRO 2x • UAP-AC-LITE • UAP-AC-IW • UAP-AC-M • UAP-AC-M-PRO 2x
UAS-XG • UCK-G2-PLUS • UCK-G2 • UCK
Regular Member
Posts: 308
Registered: ‎10-16-2017
Kudos: 33
Solutions: 5

Re: How To Track Signal Loss AP AC V2

yupp, just read about it. Maybe not an good idea to switch to a controller version, where the uaps are not supported anymore. As long as you are private using them and miss nothing, you can keep them as long they are working.

For Business it´s normally better to thing about to change.

 

So you maybe have a power supply problem (poe) or a broken wifi modul... 

best regards
Torsten

Reply