Kudos: 15

Need different SSIDs for each Access Point.

Hi,

I am new to UniFi products and this forum.

Quick rundown of system. I am running several nano stations creating several point to point stations. Each station has a Pico attached to the Nano and each Pico is manually set and has its own unique SSID. This is how the company that setup the system did it. The company has since sold out and I am not maintaining the system.

We use different SSIDs because we are an RV Resort and when a customer tells us they have an issue we simply ask which WiFi tower they are connecting to.

With that background here is my issue. I have purchased UniFi AC Mesh devices to expand due to the Picos being discontinued as well as being AC devices. The problem is I wish to name each device with it's own unique SSID like the Picos. I have played with the controller for a while now and have not been able to figure out how to make that happen.

Anyhelp would be appreciated. Please note I searched before posting but did not fine any subjects that seemed to relate to my question.

I have two other questions but they are not related at least I don't think so. I will post them seperate.

Thank You

SuperUser
Kudos: 2170
Solutions: 1075

Re: Need different SSIDs for each Access Point.

Two ways, the most elegant, Settings, Wireless Networks, WLAN Group, + button, Create new WLAN group, then in the new WLAN Group create the SSID(s) you need, on the AP, configuration, select the new WLAN Group, otherwise, if on the AP, configuration, WLAN, select the SSID you want, edit, override ...
Cheers,
jonatha

Hi, I tried the override, however it only allows me to change the 5g broadcast. The 2g does not have an overwrite feature.

Does this mean if I want 8 different SSIDs I need 8 groups under one wireless network? And if so how would I monitor all of the devices at the same time?

I have a different related question but will deal with that once the SSID issue is fixed.

Thanks

Kudos: 270