Highlighted
Accepted Solution

New build installation - suggested positioning

I’m relatively new to UniFi APs as I’ve installed a couple in a current rented property.  We are about to start building a new 3 floor property and I want to hard wire UniFi APs in at the start, but want to get positioning correct, as in the rented house we have, I’ve had issues getting suitable segmentation across the 3 floors sufficient to get decent speeds across the house.

The new property’s plans are below and I’d appreciate anyone’s advice on suitable locations for ceiling mounted UniFi APs (I’m using the Lite versions at present) to get the best and most consistent coverage using a single SSID across the house, plus provide coverage to the garden to the rear.

Thanks in advance for any help!

22E87A85-E2C1-4D0A-921C-1D9DC61047C0.jpegGround floorB3341B2A-D9B6-4555-B436-42C7FBC1F0E2.jpegFirst floor2A43632B-43AB-45BF-9AF8-A2A4AD2D9840.jpegSecond floor

Accepted Solutions
Veteran Member
Kudos: 1187
Solutions: 196

Re: New build installation - suggested positioning

In order to be flexible I'd prepare more cables that you will actually use. There are many ways to do this. I marked those with stars (*) that I would initially plan for use:

1x kitchen center (*)

1x hall (south of snug door)

1x lounge center (* preferred, if TV/games are here, also covering bed 4 above)

1x snug center (* if TV/games are here)

1x master bedroom center (*)

1x bed 3 center (*, can also cover lounge below if it does not have its own AP)

1x hall between bed 7 and bed 6 (if bed 3 below doesn't have an AP)

1x bed 7 (* to also cover bed 2 below, assumes that bed 3 has an AP that also covers bed 6 above)

Maybe you can tell us what the thick walls are made of?

How about the front of the house, garage, parking space?