Occasional Visitor

Newbie help - Questions

Hi im new to networking and Ubiquiti. 2 years ago i bought UAP -LR -US and it worked ok...although hard to get the controller working, I recently got another UAP but the PRO one and a POE 8 port powered switch. All went good installing and i then purchased another switch for another area of my network, and a gateway. All of that is working now and on the controller it says everything is great, but i have a few questions if anyone can help.

1) i have multiple logins....usernames and passwords. I know when i set up the switch i had to make 3 different ones..but all 3 of those dont seem to work with anything. The names are confusing, there is UNIFI, UBNT, Cloud, SSID ( i know this one ) and when i tried to adopt my stuff it asked for a user name and password but nothing worked! I have my log in email but sometimes i have to use my username so basically, how many different "places" do i need to go and log into? What are they for?

2) I got the controller set up at one area of the network, then tried to finish the network setup at my other computer but i couldnt....can you only use one controller? I see a place to log in online and it shows my network but when i launch it fails to connect. I also cant see anything on my ipad app unless the controller is going....is this normal?

3) Cloud key. Im guessing here this will make my network available online if i get one? I also want to get cameras so would the new cloud key plus with the 1 TB storage be the right thing to get?

Ultimately i would like to be able to use my ipad to monitor my network anytime im in range without a computer always on running the controller. Is this possible?

Thanks for your help

SuperUser
Kudos: 8520
Solutions: 1411

Re: Newbie help - Questions

This belongs in the UniFi / Getting Started forum.  Dave

> HQ in Seacoast region New Hampshire U.S.A.
> Ubiquiti Certified Trainer [UCT] for:
     UBWA [AirMax] / UEWA [UniFi] / UBRSS [routers]