Scheduled maintenance: Community will be offline Monday June 17th, 1:00 AM - 6:00 AM (PT)

Planning a mesh network - what product is the best for my case ?

Hello all,

i need to implement a mesh network to bring the connection from the main building, into a two closed porch.

I have create a little representation:

proj.png

1) The main building with the connection. The main router is on the top floor.

2) First porch that i need to bring the connection

3) Second porch that i need to bring the connection too

I think that i can buy an UAP-AC-M with UC-CK and two UAP-AC-LR.

I can place the UAP-AC-M in the top of the 1st building and plug in to the main router with ethernet cable, then connect the two UAP-AC-LR in mesh.

I'm new in Ubiquiti devices and i want to be safe that this solution can work.

Anyone can confirm that this 3 devices are what i need to do this job ?

It's possible to use only the UAP-AC-M with UC-CK but without the 2 UAP-AC-LR (I need to cover approx 100 mt - but the 2 porch are like a "wooden house" and maybe the signal can be too weak inside it) ?

If someone have a suggestion, write it to me.

Thank you in advice Icon Razz

Kudos: 4861
Solutions: 1284

Re: Planning a mesh network - what product is the best for my case ?

Hello @dave86020,

Don't use UAPs to wireless uplink buildings... Get AirMAX Radios for the link. ( requires clean line of sight )

Regards,

Glenn R.

Cloud Hosted Controllers | Glenn R. | UniFi Installation/Easy Update Scripts | UniFi-Video Installation Scripts | UniFi-VoIP Installation Scripts
USG-XG-8 • USG-4-PRO • USG
US-XG-16 • US-48-500W • US-24-POE-250W 2x • US-16-POE-150W 3x • US-24 • US-8-150W • US-8
UAP XG • UAP-SHD • UAP-HD • UAP-NanoHD 2x • UAP-AC-PRO 2x • UAP-AC-LITE • UAP-AC-IW • UAP-AC-M • UAP-AC-M-PRO 2x
UAS-XG • UCK-G2-PLUS • UCK-G2 • UCK

Thank you @AmazedMender16 for your fast reply.

Why i shouldn't use UAPs ? The distance is very low and i don't have clear LOS (some vegetations)

Kudos: 4861