Pre-Purchase Request: ER-4 , but with Unifi AP's & a Switch (Networking & Ubiquiti Newbie)

I consider myself techy, but I am a networking neophyte.  As such, I have garnered the help of a retired IT professional and between us, we believe that Ubiquiti is the best choice for my newly constructed home's (2,700 sq.ft main/2,700 walk-out basement) LAN.  IoT devices will be deployed and as such, VLAN’s are being proposed.

We have essentially decided to pull the trigger on an EdgeRouter-4 because of its hardware's horsepower and throughput capabilities, verses going with a Unifi router -- one of the USG’s (Unifi Security Gateways).  But before making the purchase, I thought I better be sure we understand what we getting into. 

As a retired programmer, my friend has some, but limited networking knowledge.  However, we’re definitely up to the challenge of potentially working with the CLS interface, if the UI won’t address all of our requirements.   

My prior-to-purchase question is:  assuming that we will need more than one (1) Unifi Access Point, is there any real benefit to managing AP’s with a Unifi based Router in the mix, as opposed to using an EdgeMax Router, the ER-4? 

A POE switch (16 or 24 port) switch will be needed.  Power needs are limited as they would only be for 1 to perhaps 3 Unifi AP’s.  Given our needs and lack of detailed networking experience, would a Unifi switch be recommended or an EdgeMax swtich?  If you believe a specific 16 or 24 POE switch model would be preferable over another, your input would certainly be appreciated.

The Unifi and EdgeMax realms are probably the most difficult part of the Ubiquiti world to understand when planning as we are.  I understand the premise of the Cloud Key device and the need for it, or running the Cloud Controller on a PC, if we going to deploy Unifi AP’s and a Unifi switch.