Problems with Guest WiFi (Isolated to several APs)

Hello,

I am still fairly new to the Ubiquity Family, but I have been slowly implementing a total Unifi network in our building. Currently, we have:

USG - Pro

(1) Unifi - 48 PoE Switch 

(5) AP-AC-HD units

(1) 8 Port Unifi PoE Switch

With several older random switches still in the mix until they get replaced.

I have the network set correctly (I believe so) with a Staff Network along with a guest WiFi. The network has been running smoothly for a couple weeks now. HOWEVER... I have a strange problem with 2 of my APs:

Clients will not/cannot connect to the guest network on 2 of the 5 APs, which are in the same room.  You will see the device attempt to retrieve an IP address on the Dashboard but it will not allow them to connect to the network (With the portal on or off), but if they leave that room and go to a different AP,  they can connect just fine.

The regular staff network works normally on all 5 APs. 

Has anyone else experienced anything like this? I have no clue on how to proceed as over 50% of the APs are working fine and the problematic ones are kind of working.

Thanks,

Kudos: 6

Re: Problems with Guest WiFi (Isolated to several APs)

What are your TX power / channel settings?

Not saying it will solve your problem as I too don't see how it connects with IP address retrival but:

I had same issue in one hotel, where some (not all) users couldn't connect to the guest network, mainly in caffe/restaurant. At that point were we in the middle of install and TX power and channel selection were set to automatic.

Only thing I've changed is to set AP to the lowest setting possible to give good coverage (almost all low and one or two on middle) and from that point no one complained about connecting to the network.

Why do you have 2 AP in same room if I may ask ?

Sakizg,

I have attached a screenshot of the channel settings: 
Unifi Channel Settings.PNG