Kudos: 3

Remote Options for Device Restart

Hello All,

This week while on an extended vacation, the Cloud Key on my home network became non-responsive.  In spite of all efforts, I could not remotely access it even though the network and Internet was available to all other devices on the network.  Ultimately, my daughter went over and physically unplugged it.  When it powered up, all was fine.  This is the first time this has happened since my network was built over a year ago.

Though I'm not a network engineer by training, I have almost all of the major components on UPS's, have fiber 1 GB up/down Internet service delivered  via an underground cable run, and Ethernet surge arrestors in place for any copper network cable associated with an outside device, the problem with the CK is making me rethink what's the best way to address device restarts when all else fails.

As a ham radio operator, I'm used to operating devices remotely and we have a houseful of home automation.  So is something as simple as a powered "appliance" type remote controlled module (no dimming) a good idea to use on certain devices to force a power off/on?

Thanks for your thoughts and suggestions.

Gary

Kudos: 2986
Solutions: 805

Re: Remote Options for Device Restart

Hello @gsownsby,

What is the LED doing of the UCK?

Are you able to SSH into the UCK?

Regards,

Glenn R.

Cloud Hosted Controllers | Glenn R. | UniFi Installation/Easy Update Scripts | UniFi-VoIP Installation Scripts
USG-4-PRO • USG
USW-48-500W • USW-24-POE-250W 2x • USW-16-POE-150W 3x • USW-24 • USW-8-150W • USW-8
UAP XG • UAP-SHD • UAP-HD • UAP-NanoHD • UAP-AC-PRO 2x • UAP-AC-LITE • UAP-AC-IW • UAP-AC-M
UCK-G2-PLUS • UCK-G2 • UCK
Kudos: 205
Solutions: 72

[ Edited ]

@gsownsby wrote:

Hello All,