Reply
New Member
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎04-16-2014
Kudos: 12
Solutions: 1
Accepted Solution

Troubleshoot Server Reject Error

[ Edited ]

Controller Version 3.2.1.2601

Windows Server 2008 SP2

UAP-PRO

I need help with this.  I am in the process of deploying 13 new Unifi APs.  I got 8 installed without any trouble, I plug a 9th one in and no matter what I try I can't get the controller to find it (have tried different APs as well).  I've run the Unifi Discover app and it detects it fine.  I've tried setting the inform url (which actually appears to be correct even on a new AP, which makes me think it's communicating on some level with the controller).  I was even able to upgrade the firmware which grabs the .bin from the controller, so it is able to communicate with the controller, it's just not coming up for adoption.  It feels like a port issue, but I even turned off the firewall on the controller server.  I'm not using the default ports because I have other services that are using them.  Here is the error I get.

 

ace_reporter.reporter_connected(): reporter connected to http://10.111.106.19:13080/inform
ace_reporter.reporter_send(): request sent, waiting for response
ace_reporter.reporter_read(): Failed!! HTTP Status code: 400
ace_reporter.reporter_fail(): Server Reject (http://10.111.106.19:13080/inform)
ace_reporter.reporter_fail(): initial contact failed #1626, url=http://10.111.106.19:13080/inform, rc=5
ace_reporter.reporter_next_inform_url(): next inform url[0]=http://unifi:8080/inform

 

Here is a thread with a similar problem, seems he only had 8 APs before he had trouble too, I don't know if that's coincedence or not. Is there some sort of limit to 8 APs? 

http://community.ubnt.com/t5/UniFi/Adoption-and-Server-Reject/m-p/565829#M45650


Accepted Solutions
New Member
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎04-16-2014
Kudos: 12
Solutions: 1

Re: Troubleshoot Server Reject Error

Silly...you have to be logged in as "Admin" to see new APs.  Thanks to this thread.

http://community.ubnt.com/t5/UniFi/AP-s-can-t-discover-controller/td-p/588425

View solution in original post


All Replies
New Member
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎04-16-2014
Kudos: 12
Solutions: 1

Re: Troubleshoot Server Reject Error

Silly...you have to be logged in as "Admin" to see new APs.  Thanks to this thread.

http://community.ubnt.com/t5/UniFi/AP-s-can-t-discover-controller/td-p/588425

New Member
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎06-16-2009
Kudos: 4

Re: Troubleshoot Server Reject Error

I spent 90 minutes trying to adopt an AP into a working environment getting the dreaded 'server reject' message and in the end I worked out that I'd missed the /inform off the end of the URL...

Established Member
Posts: 2,364
Registered: ‎05-30-2012
Kudos: 795
Solutions: 30

Re: Troubleshoot Server Reject Error

I had to start old controller and chose to forget all AP's to have them register with new controller.

 

New Member
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎12-13-2016

Re: Troubleshoot Server Reject Error

Bit of an old thread, but just had this problem recently.

 

We use a FQDN to adopt AP's ie inform.mydomain.com

SSH into the AP

Checked the AP could access the internet - check

Checked we could ping the FQDN - check

Set inform ... nothing on the controller

Run INFO

Says that the inform response is : server reject

 

Very odd.

 

I noticed the AP was running a version of firmware a few points behind where the controller was.

Did an upgrade on the AP:

eg ... UPGRADE https://dl.ubnt.com/unifi/firmware/U7PG2/3.9.54.9373/BZ.qca956x.v3.9.54.9373.180914.0009.bin

 

SSH into the AP again ... send the set-inform again, worked first time.

 

May help someone in future! Good luck!

This Unifi gear always reminds me of my children, how can they all react so differently when they all come from the same place! Lol

Emerging Member
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎04-16-2012
Kudos: 353
Solutions: 2

Re: Troubleshoot Server Reject Error

I had similar issues getting an AP to adopt (AC Mesh), with the server rejecting it for whatever reason.

 

The fix for me was to factory default the AP (this would have been the 2nd factory default performed), and adopt it again.  Then it worked and adpoted fine.

Reply