Reply
New Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-17-2018

UAP-AC-LR pathetic range?

Hi,

 

I purchased the UAP-AC-LR with the promise of "up to 183 metres". Real world, I'm able to get around 10 metres through 2 walls. My home Asus router is out performing it.

 

I've tried multiple channel width, power and channel setting options which were recommended from other forum posters. I currently have it set as 2G HT20, Channel 2, Medium Power. 5G VHT40, 144 DFS, Medium Power. This is after trying multiple options. 

 

I just want to know if I have somehow misconfigured it or the product claims are completely false

 

Thanks,

Steven

Established Member
Posts: 1,497
Registered: ‎12-14-2009
Kudos: 465
Solutions: 36

Re: UAP-AC-LR pathetic range?

Range is country dependent. Are you in Europe?

Rob Clark
Freenet Warehouse
Certified airMAX Instructor
Certified UniFi Instructor
Certified Routing and Switching Instructor
New Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-17-2018

Re: UAP-AC-LR pathetic range?

Hi,


I've got it set to Australia (my location). Happy to lie if it will boost signal as this is on a rural property

Veteran Member
Posts: 4,262
Registered: ‎10-13-2012
Kudos: 1139
Solutions: 191

Re: UAP-AC-LR pathetic range?

The WiFi standard has the same physical conditions as limit for any vendor. For the LR:

 

- use only channels 1, 6 or 11 for 2G

- set the power to either medium/high or low/medium for 2G/5G

- mount or place the LR horizontally and if possible above head; moving an AP by 10cm can make a remarkable difference somtimes

- walls are a problem, sometimes a big problem depending on material and penetration angle; the range value in the datasheet is for no walls/obstructions under ideal conditions without competing WiFi from the neighbours

 

The AC-LR is without doubt a good product. But it cannot make pigs fly.

SuperUser
Posts: 20,384
Registered: ‎09-17-2013
Kudos: 5119
Solutions: 1457

Re: UAP-AC-LR pathetic range?

Also it depends how it's mounted / installed ... if it's on the ceiling, you'll get the best coverage.  

 

If it's mounted to a wall, not so much.

New Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-17-2018

Re: UAP-AC-LR pathetic range?

Hi UB40

- I'll try the channel suggestions. This is very helpful
- It is currently horizontal. Not overhead as I didn't want to mount before testing. Currently on the desk. Will raise and re-test. I've tried in multiple locations around the house so far though

I think my gripe is that I fell for the marketing hype without thinking critically about logic.
Highlighted
SuperUser
Posts: 20,384
Registered: ‎09-17-2013
Kudos: 5119
Solutions: 1457

Re: UAP-AC-LR pathetic range?

Thing is, they *do* work out as far as UBNT says -- but, well, you've got to be in relatively unobstructed space.  "two walls" is pretty much the death of radio (at least at these frequencies / power regulations).

Emerging Member
Posts: 77
Registered: ‎04-08-2018
Kudos: 17
Solutions: 1

Re: UAP-AC-LR pathetic range?

I haven’t found Ubiquiti stuff to be overly long range indoors through walls. And the AC-LR doesn’t appear to me to be any longer range than the current AC-Pro. I honestly think it’s a marketing term.

 

All that said, it sounds like you are trying to get good in house WiFi from a single router? Unless your house is really small (like apartment size) I have found that you need multiple APs for a house. 

Reply