Upcoming Maintenance Alert:

The UBNT Community will be upgraded at 5pm MDT on April 25th. During this time the community forums will be set to read-only status.

Learn more

Accepted Solution

UniFi AP speed

Hello there,

I recently purchased two UniFi APs to provide WiFi to my home network. Both APs are connected via a switch (two seperate switches) to a 100Mbps internet connection.

While my PC (hooked up to one of the switches) is getting ~90Mbps all my mobile devices get only ~1-2 Mbps!! They report signal strengths of 95%+ when performing the tests so it seems unlikely to me that the issue is signal related. These low speeds occur on both APs which are operating at different channels (1 and 11, but also tried 3 and 8 respectively).

In the controller both APs show a wired uplink speed of 100 Full Duplex which seems ok to me. In addition it also shows 0% TX/RX errors and dropped, which also seems good (but I'm no expert). The APs are using the latest version (3.2.1.2601)

Do you have any hints on how I can narrow down what is going on here? I've read similar messages where people are advised to look at their switches/routers, but since my PC is hooked up to the same plain 'ol 1Gbps switch I don't see how this can be the problem (especially since the controller also reports the wired connection is operating at 100 Mb Full Duplex)

I'm really at a loss here, so any help figuring out what's going on would be great...

PS: I've tried changing the channels, switching between HT20 and HT40, turning on/off all sorts of encryption, restarting the devices and altering transmitting power, but all to no avail. I made sure there's no bandwidth limits set.

Accepted Solutions
Kudos: 104
Solutions: 10

Re: UniFi AP speed

[ Edited ]