Kudos: 1

Unifi AP-Lite Low Throughput?

Hello! I was wondering if I misconfigured my AP and how to get more bandwidth through it.

How I measure my throughput is being on my phone and laptop with 5Ghz (and 2.4Ghz) (2.4 Ghz is auto channel and 5Ghz is 157), I iperf from my wireless device to my pfSense firewall.

I only seem to get 40-50Mbps through my 5Ghz and 30Mbps through my 2.4Ghz channels, I had this AP for about a year and it has always been this way. Could it be a faulty unit or just misconfigured?

I apologize if I don't give enough information, I'm not very experienced with Ubiquiti products in general.

Kx11Iob

rSWjNAx

Kudos: 173
Solutions: 40

Re: Unifi AP-Lite Low Throughput?

What is your link rate to the AP - the max speed at which the devices are talking? Click on Clients, select your phone or laptop, under Details click Statistics and look at the TX and RX rates. On 5g bands they should be 300+ mbps. If not, try changing channel to 36 and check again.

On 2.4g bands, change your channel width to HT20 and select channel 1 or 6 or 11 whichever has the least activity. Turn power down to Medium. This will reduce interference from neighbours.

Do you have any switches in the mix? If so are they 100mbps or gigabit?

Thanks for the response, my 5Ghz network seems to be healthy. I'll try reducing the output to medium like you suggested, thank you for the help!

OVs6syf

I did your suggestions and it brought it up to 66.6Mbps from the 40Mbps, is this low for LAN transfer? I got >100Mbps before with other APs on this laptop I'm testing with so I don't think it's the laptop's side.

GjPscbp

Veteran Member
Kudos: 1286
Solutions: 208

[ Edited ]

Make sure that ATF (airtime fairness) is disabled; also any guest features as well as user groups with bandwidth limits reduce the performance of the AP, in particular the guest portal.

When reporting your test results tell us the negotiated PHY speeds, and state if your test device is 1x1 SISO or 2x2 MIMO.