Kudos: 3

Unifi Cloud Key SD card help

The supplied Kingston *GB SD card has never worked in my Cloud Key (CK).

I am new to Unifi and know next to nothing. I have some questions about using the SD card:

1. When I insert the card, the CK goes offline. I have to remove the card, then unplug the CK and plug it back in to get it back online. This has been problematic, the CK lost its configuration recently, I got it all back, but I had to reset all the adopted devices and start over.
  2. I've never been able to enable the auto-backup facility in the CK. Could the SD card be damaged? I've formatted it as ext4, even formatted as FAT32 and used it a PC without problems.
  3. Does the CK automatically format an SD card when you insert it, say if it's unformatted?
  4. I'd really like to get the auto-backup working. If I bought a new SD card, is there a size limit to the card I purchase, or should I play it safe and just get another 8GB card.
  5. Should I preformat a new SD card using ext4? I have a preference for SanDisk. They usually come preformatted as FAT32

Thanks for any advise.

Kudos: 5

Re: Unifi Cloud Key SD card help

I have exactly the same problem. Would like to know about this myself

Established Member
Kudos: 314
Solutions: 119

@MTCS

Hi, for cloudkey sd card backup look here:

https://help.ubnt.com/hc/en-us/articles/226218448-UniFi-How-to-Configure-Auto-Backup

Please reward people who have helped you with kudo's and mark your thread as solved when you receive a solution to your issue.
Emerging Member
Kudos: 4
Solutions: 2

Hi,

@cempa. Thanks for the link there however I too was looking for some more clarity on whether I need to format the SD card prior to use or if the Controller will format it for me?

Cheers Man Happy

Kudos: 35
Solutions: 4

[ Edited ]

I just popped mine (8gb) right into the card slot, then powered it up..
SD card worked fine, so I "assume" no manual formatting was necessary and the controller did whatever was needed.