Highlighted

Unifi SDN Controller vs. Linux security hardening

Hello

I am running Unifi SDN controller 5.9.29-11384-1 on Ubuntu 18.04 LTS with HWE kernel 4.18 on Intel core i3 server.

My setup also includes 2 APs, USG and USW

During implementation of recommendations of security audit /tmp folder got 'noexec' mount flag which basically means files cannot be executed there. With this change, Unifi SDN Controller stopped working immediately because unifi java launcher cannot run snappy file from tmp:

java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: /tmp/snappy-1.1.4-852edc30-7743-4c22-86c2-e611f1579fd4-libsnappyjava.so: /tmp/snappy-1.1.4-852edc30-7743-4c22-86c2-e611f1579fd4-libsnappyjava.so: failed to map segment from shared object

I have googled a bit for the similar issues (unfortunately I am not a Java expert) and found similar issues for Hadoop and other packages. In order to workaround the issue I have tried following proposed solutions:

1. set -Dorg.xerial.snappy.tempdir=/newpath
  2. set -Djava.io.tmpdir=/newpath

but none of the above helped. OTOH when "noexec" parameter dropped from /tmp folder everything is working fine.

With all of the above, I would like to request following:

1. Is it possible to use native libsnappy instead of the one supplied with unifi controller?
  2. Is it possible to somehow configure unifi controller to use other than /tmp folder for running executables (which is extremely insecure)?

Looking forward for your help and support

-- Artem

Re: Unifi SDN Controller vs. Linux security hardening

Bump.

It is pretty weird that nobody is inrerested in this. This means that either nobody cares about security or solution is well known to everybody except me.

Established Member
Kudos: 394
Solutions: 73

It probably means you're being hopelessly optimistic expecting that you will get a response from UBNT on this Man Happy

SuperUser
Kudos: 10677
Solutions: 656
Contributions: 1