Highlighted
Accepted Solution

User based time control of wifi access

Hi

i am new to Unifi wifi and would like to set up limited access to wifi for my kids but have unlimited for my wife and I. 

I have are set up a WLAN group with zero handoff.

i added a WLAN with and SSID and password and set the user group (under advanced) to 'default'.

I then created another WLAN with time restrictions and set the user group to a new group I created called 'children'. 

I then hen assigned the relevant group to each device and hoped this would force the 'children' device to connect to the restricted WLAN and the adult devices tot the unlimited one, but it didn't work as hoped.

please can anyone advise:

1) how to achieve what I would like to do, if it is possible

2) what is the purpose of user groups / how they should be used

3) what is the purpose of multiple wlans per group?

I am sorry if this is covered somewhere - I just can't find a clear explanation.

many thanks in advance.

Andy

Accepted Solutions
Kudos: 171
Solutions: 21

Re: User based time control of wifi access

What limitations are you wanting to set for the Kids?  Time Limit or Bandwidth Limit or Both?

I would just create Two Wireless Networks in the same "WLAN Group", one for the Kids and one for the Adults.  On the kids network under advanced -> "Enable WLAN Schedule" setup the schedule.

Connect the Kids devices to the Kids network and you should be good to go.

The User Group for each network is where you will set Bandwidth Limits for the Users connected to the Wireless Network that has been assigend to that user group.

Ubiquiti Certified - UEWA / UBRSS / UBWS / USRS

View solution in original post

All Replies

What limitations are you wanting to set for the Kids?  Time Limit or Bandwidth Limit or Both?

I would just create Two Wireless Networks in the same "WLAN Group", one for the Kids and one for the Adults.  On the kids network under advanced -> "Enable WLAN Schedule" setup the schedule.