Reply
New Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-29-2016
Kudos: 3
Accepted Solution

VHT160 on UAP-AC-HD not actually using 160 MHz channel width?

[ Edited ]

Hi folks - 

 

I recently provisioned the VHT160 channel width on a couple of UAP-AC-HD AP's running version 4.0.15.9872.  Curiously though, the AP's utilziation of a 160 MHz channel width was not reflected in wifi scanning applications: Ubiquiti's own WiFiMan anroid app and MacOS WiFi Explorer.  Both those apps indicate that the UAP-AC-HD's are still using a 80 MHz channel width.

 

Does anyone know why client apps aren't reflecting that the UAP-AC-HD is using a 160 MHz channel width?  Is it possible that the devices aren't actually implementing the 160 MHz channel width, even though it's indicated as such in the UI?  If so, is this a bug?

 

 

 

Screen Shot 2019-01-30 at 3.45.15 PM.png
Screen Shot 2019-01-30 at 4.22.34 PM.png
Screenshot_20190130-162638.png
Screenshot_20190130-162638.png

Accepted Solutions
Established Member
Posts: 1,950
Registered: ‎03-31-2017
Kudos: 718
Solutions: 212

Re: VHT160 on UAP-AC-HD not actually using 160 MHz channel width?


@umarcc wrote:

Hi folks - 

 

I recently provisioned the VHT160 channel width on a couple of UAP-AC-HD AP's running version 4.0.15.9872.  Curiously though, the AP's utilziation of a 160 MHz channel width was not reflected in wifi scanning applications: Ubiquiti's own WiFiMan anroid app and MacOS WiFi Explorer.  Both those apps indicate that the UAP-AC-HD's are still using a 80 MHz channel width.

 

Does anyone know why client apps aren't reflecting that the UAP-AC-HD is using a 160 MHz channel width?  Is it possible that the devices aren't actually implementing the 160 MHz channel width, even though it's indicated as such in the UI?  If so, is this a bug?

 

 

 


This is correct.

 

You need new devices, none of YOUR client devices support 160MHz channels.

 

Replace your wifi adapters with either an intel 9260 or 9560 those are the only two cards currently on the market that can be found easily and support a160MHz channel width.

 

There are no Android phones, tablets or ANYTHING from Apple (including their computers) that supports a 160MHz channel width.

View solution in original post


All Replies
Established Member
Posts: 1,950
Registered: ‎03-31-2017
Kudos: 718
Solutions: 212

Re: VHT160 on UAP-AC-HD not actually using 160 MHz channel width?


@umarcc wrote:

Hi folks - 

 

I recently provisioned the VHT160 channel width on a couple of UAP-AC-HD AP's running version 4.0.15.9872.  Curiously though, the AP's utilziation of a 160 MHz channel width was not reflected in wifi scanning applications: Ubiquiti's own WiFiMan anroid app and MacOS WiFi Explorer.  Both those apps indicate that the UAP-AC-HD's are still using a 80 MHz channel width.

 

Does anyone know why client apps aren't reflecting that the UAP-AC-HD is using a 160 MHz channel width?  Is it possible that the devices aren't actually implementing the 160 MHz channel width, even though it's indicated as such in the UI?  If so, is this a bug?

 

 

 


This is correct.

 

You need new devices, none of YOUR client devices support 160MHz channels.

 

Replace your wifi adapters with either an intel 9260 or 9560 those are the only two cards currently on the market that can be found easily and support a160MHz channel width.

 

There are no Android phones, tablets or ANYTHING from Apple (including their computers) that supports a 160MHz channel width.

Highlighted
Veteran Member
Posts: 4,046
Registered: ‎05-13-2015
Kudos: 1227
Solutions: 99

Re: VHT160 on UAP-AC-HD not actually using 160 MHz channel width?

New Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-29-2016
Kudos: 3

Re: VHT160 on UAP-AC-HD not actually using 160 MHz channel width?

Thanks, that's very helpful.

Reply