Reply
Member
Posts: 248
Registered: ‎11-27-2017
Kudos: 7

WAN2 as Failover question

Hi,

 

I have a site with 2 ISP's where the second one should be setup as fail-over line.

The modem from the 2nd ISP is not fully able to go into bridge mode but I have found a way to obtain a WAN ip on my laptop.

 

How should I now set this up on the WAN2 network page?

 

When I connect my macbook to LAN1 from the modem from ISP 2 and setup a PPPoE connection im getting it to work, but using the same settings on unifi doesnt get me to connect and obtain a WAN ip.

 

Its a fritzbox modem with these credentials (see photo's).

 

In the modem (fritzbox) I had to select VLAN 6 but either with or without VLAN 6 on the WAN2 port, it's not working.

 

Anyone idea what I should do?

 

I need the second ISP to work as fail-over but I cant have double NAT as the VOIP devices wont work.

 

Thanks!

 

Schermafbeelding 2018-09-05 om 14.28.49.jpg
Schermafbeelding 2018-09-05 om 14.28.23.jpg
Schermafbeelding 2018-09-05 om 14.23.26.jpg
Senior Member
Posts: 16,382
Registered: ‎08-04-2017
Kudos: 2997
Solutions: 806

Re: WAN2 as Failover question

[ Edited ]

Hello @Prozper,

 

Maybe these 2 articles will help you a little.

Article 1

Article 2

 


Regards,

Glenn R.

Cloud Hosted Controllers | Glenn R. | UniFi Installation/Easy Update Scripts | UniFi-VoIP Installation Scripts
USG-4-PRO • USG
USW-48-500W • USW-24-POE-250W 2x • USW-16-POE-150W 3x • USW-24 • USW-8-150W • USW-8
UAP XG • UAP-SHD • UAP-HD • UAP-NanoHD • UAP-AC-PRO 2x • UAP-AC-LITE • UAP-AC-IW • UAP-AC-M
UCK-G2-PLUS • UCK-G2 • UCK
Member
Posts: 248
Registered: ‎11-27-2017
Kudos: 7

Re: WAN2 as Failover question

Thanks Glenn,

They do help me but Im still not getting a WAN ip when connected to the USG from the fritzbox modem..
Senior Member
Posts: 16,382
Registered: ‎08-04-2017
Kudos: 2997
Solutions: 806

Re: WAN2 as Failover question

Hello @Prozper,

 

Just throwing some things at you...

Could you try to put the USG on a DMZ?

 

 

Regards,

Glenn R.

Cloud Hosted Controllers | Glenn R. | UniFi Installation/Easy Update Scripts | UniFi-VoIP Installation Scripts
USG-4-PRO • USG
USW-48-500W • USW-24-POE-250W 2x • USW-16-POE-150W 3x • USW-24 • USW-8-150W • USW-8
UAP XG • UAP-SHD • UAP-HD • UAP-NanoHD • UAP-AC-PRO 2x • UAP-AC-LITE • UAP-AC-IW • UAP-AC-M
UCK-G2-PLUS • UCK-G2 • UCK
Established Member
Posts: 2,065
Registered: ‎01-29-2015
Kudos: 304
Solutions: 78

Re: WAN2 as Failover question

I'm not familiar at all with the Fritz and how it can be configured, but if you can't put it in bridge or "modem" mode, you'll have double NAT.

 

If the Fritz is handling the PPPoE handshake, the USG should be in DHCP mode, not PPPoE.

 

If you can make the Fritz just the modem, then the USG handles the PPPoE and you won't have double NAT.

Member
Posts: 248
Registered: ‎11-27-2017
Kudos: 7

Re: WAN2 as Failover question

I had to learn that the Fritz can't be put in bridge unafortunately. So there are a couple of work arounds scattered on internet but I dont find them satisfactory for my setup.

So on my macbook I make a PPPoE connection like in this tutorial and then I get a WAN ip on my mac. But who is handling the PPPoE handshake in this case?

I will try later today if I can get a connection if I put the USG in DHCP.

Im learning as we speak Man Happy
Thanks for helping!
Reply