Upcoming Maintenance Alert:

The UBNT Community will be upgraded at 5pm MDT on April 25th. During this time the community forums will be set to read-only status.

Learn more

×
Reply
New Member
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎07-31-2012
Kudos: 2

pfSense DHCP provision option?

We're trying to configure our pfSense firewalls to provision some UniFi access points using the DHCP option 43 but it doesn't seem to be taking. Has anybody else done this? We're adding the following configuration to the DHCP server advanced settings:

Number: 43
Type: Text
Value: ubnt.unifi-address 10.29.0.157

This is the FAQ we're pulling the details from: wiki.ubnt.com/UniFi_FAQ#To_use_DHCP_Option_43

Do we need more options?
Emerging Member
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎01-24-2013
Kudos: 7
Solutions: 1

Re: pfSense DHCP provision option?

dniesen did you ever get this working? I am trying to setup the same thing here.
New Member
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎07-31-2012
Kudos: 2

Re: pfSense DHCP provision option?

We scrapped it and ended up using the DNS forwarder instead. That was far easier for that particular implementation anyway but this would be handy in the future.
Emerging Member
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎01-24-2013
Kudos: 7
Solutions: 1

Re: pfSense DHCP provision option?

Thanks!
Member
Posts: 276
Registered: ‎09-14-2009
Kudos: 129
Solutions: 18

Re: pfSense DHCP provision option?

Yes we use pfSense and I think in every case we do either of:

  • have a DHCP reservation for the controller PC, with DHCP hostname set to unifi,
    (with the DNS forwarder setting ticked to resolve for DHCP reservations)
  • have a DNS forwarder entry for unifi (unifi.example.suffix) which works even if the controller is outside the network

In either case it doesn't matter whether the controller machine hostname is really unifi or not.
The first method is slightly neater as it both reserves the IP of the controller machine and resolves the name in one setting, so the controller's network settings can remain on automatic.
Also if you ever have to setup a replacement controller machine you can prep it, then shut down the existing controller machine, then update the MAC address (in the DHCP reservation) when ready to attach the new one to the network.
Emerging Member
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎04-10-2013
Kudos: 6
Solutions: 1

Re: pfSense DHCP provision option?

[ Edited ]

I worked this out:

 

Use DHCP option 43 and select "String". You must convert your controller IP address to HEX and add 01:04 to the beginning ie. for my setup - IP = 10.0.0.10 in HEX it is 0A:00:00:0A so in the 'String' field I enter:

 

01:04:0A:00:00:0A

 

Hope this helps.

New Member
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-01-2011

Re: pfSense DHCP provision option?

Thanks illum007, that worked perfectly!

Established Member
Posts: 2,084
Registered: ‎05-30-2012
Kudos: 626
Solutions: 25

Re: pfSense DHCP provision option?

So if the IP-address of the controller is 192.168.15.100 the Hex value will be: C0:A8:0F:64 correct ?

Established Member
Posts: 2,084
Registered: ‎05-30-2012
Kudos: 626
Solutions: 25

Re: pfSense DHCP provision option?

Found this http://www.miniwebtool.com/ip-address-to-hex-converter/ and it confirms my HEX value is correct...

New Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-27-2013
Kudos: 2

Re: pfSense DHCP provision option?

[ Edited ]

Trying to make it simpler for ppl Man Happy

pfSense

Additional BOOTP/DHCP Options -> press advanced and add a new entry.

Number
Type
Value
43
string
01:04:c0:a8:6e:0a

 

(01:04: + 192.168.110.10 in hex) 192.168.110.10 is unifi controller in this case. 

Use http://www.kloth.net/services/iplocate.php to convert your controller ipadress.

Check dhcplease and ssh to AP with (ubnt/ubnt) before adoption and unifi user/pass after to check status.

Use help and info commands to get status.

Status:     

Unable to resolve (http://unifi:8080/inform) <-- cannot resolve unifi hostname or option 43 not present in dhcpd answer.

Server Reject (http://unifi:8080/inform) <--  AP can reach server but is not adopted yet, login to controller and adopt.

Connected (http://unifi:8080/inform) <-- AP adopted in unifi controller. Yippie!

 

Hope this help

 

New Member
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎08-25-2014
Kudos: 5

Re: pfSense DHCP provision option?

By the way, in case anybody is running a captive portal on pfSense (or any other router for that matter) while trying to configure Layer 3 adoption for their UniFi access points, don't forget to either whitelist the hostname for your controller or pass through the MAC's of your AP's. 

 

I just spent a fair amount of time wondering why I couldn't get the darn things to inform to my controller over L3 Banghead

 

arri

Reply