Reply
Highlighted
Member
Posts: 104
Registered: ‎01-26-2017
Kudos: 1

Hosting AirControl on Cloud/Public IP?

I am eondering if AirControl can be installed on cloud server with public IP to monitor nanobeams across multiple local sites?

 

like we do with Unifi controller and Unms..

 

if so, any setup document available?

Veteran Member
Posts: 4,637
Registered: ‎03-02-2015
Kudos: 895
Solutions: 211

Re: Hosting AirControl on Cloud/Public IP?

There was a document for digital ocean on Help Pages, but i guess they removed it, because it was outdated.
Basically just install it where your UniFi is running as described here:
https://help.ubnt.com/hc/en-us/articles/218279908-airControl-How-to-Install-airControl-on-Ubuntu-Ser...
(Debian 8/9 works also without issues)
Sidenote: Oracle Java8 JDK is recommended instead of OpenJDK.
Java9 has issues with desktop client as mentioned in release notes.

Used ports are inbound TCP 9081 for devices/desktop client and TCP 9082 for Webclient /browser access. Outbound TCP 10001 for discovery and TCP 22 for ssh management of devices.
(you can change these after install of AC2.1 server, which is also recommended with public server)
Additionally you can use your own SSL certificate as described here:
https://help.ubnt.com/hc/en-us/articles/115005593008-airControl-How-to-Install-SSL-Certificate-for-t...
===================================================
We all work for KUDOs here.
Thx
Member
Posts: 104
Registered: ‎01-26-2017
Kudos: 1

Re: Hosting AirControl on Cloud/Public IP?

@Skipper0815 thanks for your reply.

 

So these questions left:

  • how do the Nanbeams know where the Aircontrol is - so monitoring is available? (something like Unifi uses set-infrm url?)
  • can it run on same server (I use Digital Ocean for Unifi controller) or a new dedicated server?
  • what are specs if new or shared server for Air control?

Thanks

Veteran Member
Posts: 4,637
Registered: ‎03-02-2015
Kudos: 895
Solutions: 211

Re: Hosting AirControl on Cloud/Public IP?

Yes similar to unifi inform.
Aircontrol heartbeat.
Same server is possible if you don't mix ports with UniFi.
around 1GB RAM additionally to your current setup/operating system per 300 devices.
As Aircontrol2 server runs on everything like Raspberry 2 or better... no high specs necessary.
parallel configuration or Firmware updates of course temporarily consume more RAM, but doing that in branches will keep that low.
AC2 runs on a single core within JVM, so quad or octa core machines not necessary.( at least not for AC2 )
===================================================
We all work for KUDOs here.
Thx
Member
Posts: 104
Registered: ‎01-26-2017
Kudos: 1

Re: Hosting AirControl on Cloud/Public IP?

Hi there @Skipper0815 I have installed Aircontrol on a webserver, but in the Nanobeam AirOS (latest version) is dont'see any setting for connecting to Aircontrol server..

So how to connect/send heartbeat to the Aircontrol server using AirOS settings pages?
Veteran Member
Posts: 4,637
Registered: ‎03-02-2015
Kudos: 895
Solutions: 211

Re: Hosting AirControl on Cloud/Public IP?

[ Edited ]

@wifiprofs

Nope... it doesn't work that way.
You have to add your devices to Aircontrol2.
(manually or just via discovery)
AC2 connects than via ssh TCP22 to radio and starts monitoring via heartbeat TCP9081 back to server.
Discovery of radios with public IPs can only discovered via TCP. (UDP is blocked by radio after fw 6.0.3 / 8.1.2)

 

btw:

default ports for radio ssh, AC2 heartbeat and AC2 webclient should be changed.

Also custom username and strong passwords for radios and AC2 itself is suggested.

 

===================================================
We all work for KUDOs here.
Thx
Member
Posts: 104
Registered: ‎01-26-2017
Kudos: 1

Re: Hosting AirControl on Cloud/Public IP?

Sorry, alright - so how to do this then?

Can you help me with description? I have to do it in Aircontrol thus.. adding using the public ip?
Veteran Member
Posts: 4,637
Registered: ‎03-02-2015
Kudos: 895
Solutions: 211

Re: Hosting AirControl on Cloud/Public IP?

@wifiprofs

adding devices manually:
https://help.ubnt.com/hc/en-us/articles/204976344-airControl-Adding-devices-to-topology-tree

More info in Userguide( basics are the same between desktop and webclient, so good for start):
https://www.ubnt.com/downloads/guides/aircontrol/airControl_UG.pdf
===================================================
We all work for KUDOs here.
Thx
Reply