Upcoming Maintenance Alert:

The UBNT Community will be upgraded at 5pm MDT on April 25th. During this time the community forums will be set to read-only status.

Learn more

×
Reply
Highlighted
Emerging Member
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎02-06-2014
Kudos: 2
Solutions: 1

Speedtest causes CPE to go offline and stay offline

I used AirControl to do speed tests on two devices, a NanoBeam M2 and a Loco M2. Up until this test both have have worked perfectly for a long time. Now they have gone offline, AC cannot reconnect and they are not accessable, neither via the GUI nor SSH. Both devices continue to provide a good connection.

 

 

 

AC2 v 2.0.2

Loco 6.0.6 (XM)

NanoBeam 6.0.6 (XW)

 

Our config is

VDSL --> 500AC1 --> 500AC2 --> EdgeRouterPoE --> Rocket --> CPE

The speedtest was from the CPE to the 500AC1.

 

The precise sequence of events was to select the speedtest in AirControl, allow it to run for 30secs and then cancel it. About 2 mins later I noticed that they were offline. It seems too much of a coincidence that the cause is anything else but the speedtest.

 

Physically I will not be able to visit these devices for over 2 weeks so I do not want to experiment with anything that may stop them working completely.

Senior Member
Posts: 2,701
Registered: ‎03-02-2015
Kudos: 376
Solutions: 110

Re: Speedtest causes CPE to go offline and stay offline

sounds awkward that ssh isn't possible anymore to two different devices on two different wireless links, but traffic is still passing.
Which mode they were? ( I guess your 500AC1 in AP bridge mode)
does at least ping work?
===================================================
We all work for KUDOs here.
Thx
Emerging Member
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎02-06-2014
Kudos: 2
Solutions: 1

Re: Speedtest causes CPE to go offline and stay offline

Sorry, I was not clear enough. Both devices are CPEs connected to the rocket. I carried out two speed tests to 500AC1, one from each device. Our VDSL had been given a speed bump from about 45mbps to 70mbps. I had changed the QoS in the Edgerouter to reflect this and was doing a quick test from the worst and best connected customers to see what had happened to their speeds. Straight after I had done this I noticed that both CPEs were offline.
Emerging Member
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎02-06-2014
Kudos: 2
Solutions: 1

Re: Speedtest causes CPE to go offline and stay offline

The 500AC is in Access Point PtP mode, the CPEs are in Station
Emerging Member
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎02-06-2014
Kudos: 2
Solutions: 1

Re: Speedtest causes CPE to go offline and stay offline

Ping works
Ubiquiti Employee
Posts: 452
Registered: ‎04-21-2011
Kudos: 60
Solutions: 43

Re: Speedtest causes CPE to go offline and stay offline

@cloudyjoe

What error do you see after try connect ssh session? Can you do telnet with 22/443 port to this devices?

UBNT QA Team
Emerging Member
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎02-06-2014
Kudos: 2
Solutions: 1

Re: Speedtest causes CPE to go offline and stay offline

This is what I get when I try ssh or telnet

Cloudyjoe:~ Steve$ telnet 192.168.2.254 22
Trying 192.168.2.254...
Connected to 192.168.2.254.
Escape character is '^]'.
Connection closed by foreign host.

Cloudyjoe:~ Steve$ ssh Admin@192.168.2.254
ssh_exchange_identification: Connection closed by remote host
Cloudyjoe:~ Steve$

It looks as if a connection can be established but rejection is almost instantaneous.

I've tried the same speed test sequence with a different client and there was no problem. What has happened with these two is quite baffling.
Senior Member
Posts: 2,701
Registered: ‎03-02-2015
Kudos: 376
Solutions: 110

Re: Speedtest causes CPE to go offline and stay offline

so ssh isn't working anymore.. could be a issue with your radio on 6.0.6 XM.
Any VLAN on your net ?
Any chance to reboot it? ... without WebGUI or ssh access not much to do from remote.
===================================================
We all work for KUDOs here.
Thx
Emerging Member
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎02-06-2014
Kudos: 2
Solutions: 1

Re: Speedtest causes CPE to go offline and stay offline

No VLAN.
I could ask customer to reboot but if it doesn't come back up he is going to really annoyed to have no internet for the next two weeks until I get back and sort it so that is not a risk I'm prepared to take.
Senior Member
Posts: 2,701
Registered: ‎03-02-2015
Kudos: 376
Solutions: 110

Re: Speedtest causes CPE to go offline and stay offline

if it's running for now ..wait until you have physical access.
===================================================
We all work for KUDOs here.
Thx
Emerging Member
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎02-06-2014
Kudos: 2
Solutions: 1

Re: Speedtest causes CPE to go offline and stay offline

Yes, I'll wait.
I'm betting that I'll never know what has gone on here because I can't replicate the fault.
Reply