New Member
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎07-18-2018
Kudos: 1

Enable SNMP on airCube

Hello!

 

Is it possible to enable the SNMP service on the airCube ISP?

 

I would like to monitor my WiFi device in Cacti, as I used to do with my previous router Man Happy

 

Thank you!

Regular Member
Posts: 519
Registered: ‎10-16-2016
Kudos: 65
Solutions: 14

Re: Enable SNMP on airCube

:-D so sweet ... believe my you will have to wait ... this product is in evolution at this time but snmp is far far away from beeing deployed

New Member
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎07-18-2018
Kudos: 1

Re: Enable SNMP on airCube

Well, from "Support information" package I can see it's running some Linux distro.

Wouldn't it be just as simple as 'opkg install snmpd' in the shell?

Established Member
Posts: 920
Registered: ‎06-22-2013
Kudos: 465
Solutions: 12

Re: Enable SNMP on airCube

It should be easy, but since there is no ssh support in the airCube and ubnt choose to not put that on the roadmap, you will have to wait a lot before snmp.

 

 

New Member
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎07-18-2018
Kudos: 1

Re: Enable SNMP on airCube

Sad then Man Sad

I will really miss the Cacti graph of my router which I am very used to....

Ubiquiti Employee
Posts: 11,305
Registered: ‎04-14-2017
Kudos: 2099
Solutions: 324

Re: Enable SNMP on airCube

There is currently no plan to implement SNMP on the airCube. For monitoring, we are prioritizing UNMS.
New Member
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎03-16-2017
Kudos: 5

Re: Enable SNMP on airCube

I'm so glad I only bought a small number of cubes to test. 

Lack of basic things like SNMP support is just another reason to not buy any more.

Ubiquiti Employee
Posts: 11,305
Registered: ‎04-14-2017
Kudos: 2099
Solutions: 324

Re: Enable SNMP on airCube

I'll discuss with the team, but that is our current position.
Emerging Member
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎09-08-2009
Kudos: 3

Re: Enable SNMP on airCube

Without SNMP, the AirCube is not usable in our network. SNMP is more important to us than UNMS. Without SNMP so it can be monitored by our in-house software (who's first version predates AirControl 1), no device gets the privledge of being on our network. Our software talks to over a dozen different vendors and it uses SNMP to identify which vendor-module to use. If it can't identify the vendor, it locks the IP address from passing outside of the walled garden and sends us a whack-load of SMS notifications so we can track the security breach. So as it is, this AirCube is less useful than a wall-mountable TPlink I can buy for 1/3 the price that does have SNMP.

Ubiquiti Employee
Posts: 11,305
Registered: ‎04-14-2017
Kudos: 2099
Solutions: 324

Re: Enable SNMP on airCube

Message received; at this time, our focus is on management via UNMS.