Reply
Highlighted
New Member
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-17-2018

aircube (random) MAC switches

so, the issue i am having is:

there are 2 MAC  addresses for my aircube, and it appears as if with every reboot of the device it randomly selects which one it uses to query the dhcp server.

 

i have  fc:ec:da:27:a9:0d  and fe:ec:da:27:a9:0d, and when rebooting it selects, seemingly at random,

one of those 2 to request a dhcp address.

it still uses the correct vlan, but since it is requesting an ip from the management dhcp server, with the wrong mac,

the device becomes unreachable.

 

the device is an aircube-isp, in bridge mode, with a management an data vlan.

 

the expected behaviour would be to have only 1 macaddress for 1 interface requesting dhcp on the vlan,

therefor this has to be a bug - and its a darn annoying one at that!!

New Member
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-17-2018

Re: aircube (random) MAC switches

addition:

 

since fc:ec:da:27:a9:0d is the registered OUI for ubiquiti, i would assume the alternative (fE....) should never be showing itself to a dhcp server, since in a lookup it would come back as unknown.... (and would be bad for, for example, OUI QOS rules)

 

and for an example: it registers to the dhcp server with the correct, FC.... mac address.

i subsequently activate the night mode for the led, it reboots (?) and gone is my access.

i hop back over to my dhcp server logs and see it hopped to the FE address:

 

Oct 11 01:05:11    dhcpd: DHCPACK on 10.0.5.21 to fe:ec:da:27:a9:0d via re1_vlan1005
Oct 11 01:05:11    dhcpd: DHCPREQUEST for 10.0.5.21 (10.0.5.1) from fe:ec:da:27:a9:0d via re1_vlan1005
Oct 11 01:05:11    dhcpd: DHCPOFFER on 10.0.5.21 to fe:ec:da:27:a9:0d via re1_vlan1005 

Oct 11 01:02:53    dhcpd: DHCPDISCOVER from fe:ec:da:27:a9:0d via re1_vlan1005: network 10.0.5.0/24: no free leases
Oct 11 00:58:21    dhcpd: DHCPACK on 10.0.5.20 to fc:ec:da:27:a9:0d via re1_vlan1005
Oct 11 00:58:21    dhcpd: DHCPREQUEST for 10.0.5.20 (10.0.5.1) from fc:ec:da:27:a9:0d via re1_vlan1005
Oct 11 00:58:21    dhcpd: DHCPOFFER on 10.0.5.20 to fc:ec:da:27:a9:0d via re1_vlan1005

Oct 11 00:57:58    dhcpd: DHCPDISCOVER from fc:ec:da:27:a9:0d via re1_vlan1005: network 10.0.5.0/24: no free leases

New Member
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-17-2018

Re: aircube (random) MAC switches

@UBNT-James@UBNT-Kaleda@UBNT-SNKanyone with an explanation or an update?

Ubiquiti Employee
Posts: 8,656
Registered: ‎04-14-2017
Kudos: 1633
Solutions: 249

Re: aircube (random) MAC switches

@UBNT-Kaleda can you take a look please?
Ubiquiti Employee
Posts: 153
Registered: ‎02-15-2008
Kudos: 135
Solutions: 8

Re: aircube (random) MAC switches

Which fw version are you using ?
New Member
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-17-2018

Re: aircube (random) MAC switches

sorry, should have mentioned that from the get-go, but i'm using 2.4.0

 

airCube ISP
v2.4.0.cb22320.180904.1044
MAC: FCECDA26A90D
Member
Posts: 125
Registered: ‎02-16-2017
Kudos: 19
Solutions: 2

Re: aircube (random) MAC switches

[ Edited ]

I have seen this show up in DHCP logs as well, it’s only for AirCubes used in bridge mode. We only use bridge mode for as long as it takes to update them.

 

it was the second character of the MAC address changed in our case as well, not the normal (in the middle of the MAC string) change between using bridge and router mode.

New Member
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-17-2018

Re: aircube (random) MAC switches

for me, putting it in router mode is not an option as it is meant to be a replacement for the older UAPs,

and it is just meant to be a wifi AP for the home users, behind a network that can be easily controlled through unms and sits behind an opnsense firewall/router setup.

Reply