Reply
Highlighted
Regular Member
Posts: 421
Registered: ‎12-01-2013
Kudos: 9
Solutions: 3

Help aligning af24

[ Edited ]

Hi all,

 

I have done around 6-7 af24 and all worked out well. This time I have interference from other links.

 

I have aligned both dishes in general direction of each other and have taken airviews of each side with the wireless power set to zero.  Can you give me some advice what channel i should use and should I even use af24 here?

First pic is of mast side and second pic is of customers site side.

 

5km Link

mast side zero.png
Screen Shot 2017-02-17 at 11.56.25.png
Member
Posts: 250
Registered: ‎03-17-2016
Kudos: 38
Solutions: 13

Re: Help aligning af24

Can you detail what AF24 links you have there/near and their perspective channels etc? Running half or full duplex? If physical separation is decent you can easily appropriate the correct channels to not interfere with each other.
Member
Posts: 250
Registered: ‎03-17-2016
Kudos: 38
Solutions: 13

Re: Help aligning af24

https://community.ubnt.com/t5/airFiber-Stories/Multi-AF24-network/cns-p/1640251

Here's a link for a story where multiple colocated AF24s we installed. Maybe you can ask the poster for some advice? Just a thought
Regular Member
Posts: 421
Registered: ‎12-01-2013
Kudos: 9
Solutions: 3

Re: Help aligning af24

This is the first af24 I am installing in this area, all I can say is I can see another af24 on the same mast. I do not really know what these other signals are on airview. 

 

Should I try align these dishes using 24.1 half duplex mode or 24.2?

 

 

SuperUser
Posts: 9,180
Registered: ‎10-28-2009
Kudos: 2759
Solutions: 211

Re: Help aligning af24


ambitious wrote:

This is the first af24 I am installing in this area, all I can say is I can see another af24 on the same mast. I do not really know what these other signals are on airview. 

 

Should I try align these dishes using 24.1 half duplex mode or 24.2?

 

 


What distance is this AF24 link, and are you in the USA?

Tony Pierro
CTO - Wireless Internet Services, Inc.
Regular Member
Posts: 421
Registered: ‎12-01-2013
Kudos: 9
Solutions: 3

Re: Help aligning af24

Its a 5km link with max 33db

Member
Posts: 250
Registered: ‎03-17-2016
Kudos: 38
Solutions: 13

Re: Help aligning af24

In theory run it ful duplex and opposing channels of the other link you mentioned and to know have interference.
Regular Member
Posts: 421
Registered: ‎12-01-2013
Kudos: 9
Solutions: 3

Re: Help aligning af24

[ Edited ]

I tried everything , half duplex 24.1 and 24.2 and full duplex.....cant get them to link....I can get a solid number under the unit 79-80 when I try align these on 24.1 but I think that is coming from the other af24 on the mast. Looks like I will have to give up on AF24 on this one. 

 

Using af24 what freq should I see from another af24 ..... the above airview show a 100mhz channel starting at 24.05 to 24.15 .......so a 24.2 channel would be 24.15 to 24.25 ....is that correct with af24's 

 

Before I left the site today I took another airview and noticed that I now see a 100mhz channel but it seems it starts at 24.065 to 24.165  is this possible to shift frequecy up? Or is it because I have moved the af24 from position where I took first screen shot?

 

 

Screen Shot 2017-02-18 at 22.28.14.png
Ubiquiti Employee
Posts: 359
Registered: ‎11-20-2013
Kudos: 204
Solutions: 13

Re: Help aligning af24

have you changed the name of the link? Try default resetting the radios and airview the slave side and aim for the frequency you have configured on the master. It should show up. If you aren't getting to the registering state something tells me maybe another configuration is off.
Regular Member
Posts: 421
Registered: ‎12-01-2013
Kudos: 9
Solutions: 3

Re: Help aligning af24

Just done that no sucess Man Sad .... I will have one last go aligning before changing to 5G link ....note I have aligned 7 af24 links before this. But all the other times I had a clear airview, this time am thinking interference .

Member
Posts: 220
Registered: ‎06-19-2012
Kudos: 52
Solutions: 3

Re: Help aligning af24

Can you post a screenshot of your settings on each radio?

SuperUser
Posts: 5,198
Registered: ‎04-17-2008
Kudos: 2942
Solutions: 124

Re: Help aligning af24

I don't know what FW you have on those, but on the newer firmware the timing is better. That would be my first suggestion. Also posting screenshots might help.

Reply