Reply
Highlighted
New Member
Posts: 3
Registered: Tuesday

PowerBeam 5AC Gen2

I am having a issue with my PowerBeam 5AC Gen2 Station PtP. The eth0 link keeps going down throught the day. Also the link speed will drop to 100Mbps and a reboot will sometimes return it to 1000Mbps. The device is powered with the included POE injector.

 

I have tested and replaced the cable ends multiple times. Is there something else I should be trying?

 

 

Jan 18 08:19:02 ulogger[810]: interface=eth0 link=DOWN
Jan 18 08:19:06 ulogger[810]: interface=eth0 link=UP speed=1000Mbps duplex=FULL
Jan 18 08:19:18 ulogger[810]: interface=eth0 link=DOWN
Jan 18 08:19:22 ulogger[810]: interface=eth0 link=UP speed=1000Mbps duplex=FULL
Jan 18 08:19:28 ulogger[810]: interface=eth0 link=DOWN
Jan 18 08:19:34 ulogger[810]: interface=eth0 link=UP speed=1000Mbps duplex=FULL
Jan 18 08:19:44 ulogger[810]: interface=eth0 link=DOWN
Jan 18 08:19:52 ulogger[810]: interface=eth0 link=UP speed=1000Mbps duplex=FULL
Jan 18 08:20:20 ulogger[810]: interface=eth0 link=DOWN
Jan 18 08:20:34 ulogger[810]: interface=eth0 link=UP speed=1000Mbps duplex=FULL
Jan 18 08:20:36 ulogger[810]: interface=eth0 link=DOWN
Jan 18 08:20:42 ulogger[810]: interface=eth0 link=UP speed=100Mbps duplex=FULL

 

Emerging Member
Posts: 79
Registered: ‎12-11-2014
Kudos: 17
Solutions: 2

Re: PowerBeam 5AC Gen2

Water in the cable? Have you tested the cable? If water got in there, the poe may be having issues as well. 

Ubiquiti Employee
Posts: 9,575
Registered: ‎11-27-2012
Kudos: 2872
Solutions: 612
Contributions: 73

Re: PowerBeam 5AC Gen2

Are there any other co-located radios near this unit?

 

What is the total length of this ethernet run?

UBNT_Alternate_Logo.png
Ubiquiti Networks airMAX Support Team

Check out our ever-evolving Help Center for answers to many common questions!

FREE UBWA Student Guide-Great RF Primer!

New Member
Posts: 3
Registered: Tuesday

Re: PowerBeam 5AC Gen2

[ Edited ]

The cable was tested when it was installed a few months ago. I believe the issue has been there ever since, it is just getting worse. The cable is about 280 ft. of direct bury, so I do not think water would have gotten in there. Maybe in the connector, but here in Michigan it would be ice.

 

No there is not another radio near by.

Member
Posts: 251
Registered: ‎09-30-2013
Kudos: 56
Solutions: 17

Re: PowerBeam 5AC Gen2

What does the equipment report the cable length and cable snr as?  Screenshots preferred for accuracy.cable length.JPG

New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: Tuesday

Re: PowerBeam 5AC Gen2

Hi

 

Can someone tell me if there is a difference between a US and Europe model of the RP-5AC-Gen2 units?

If possible, I want to buy these in Europe and later use them un the US - Not sure if it is legal

If not, what is the bast place to buy in the US (L.A.area) 

Established Member
Posts: 883
Registered: ‎09-27-2015
Kudos: 412
Solutions: 16

Re: PowerBeam 5AC Gen2

280 ft is within spec, but it's far enough out there to question whether the cable itself might be the problem. Is the cable rated for direct bury? Is it armored? It doesn't take much earth shifting at all to damage a direct bury cable, especially one that isn't armored. It's shielded and grounded too, right? 280ft is a long conductor that could be picking up something from the ground it's buried in.

 

It's possible the radio hardware or POE brick might be at fault, but I would suggest ruling out the cable first.

New Member
Posts: 3
Registered: Tuesday

Re: PowerBeam 5AC Gen2

The cable is rated for direct bury, it is tough to work with. The cable is shielded and I used shielded RJ connectors on both ends. The POE is connected to a grounded outlet.

 

Below is the requested SNR Data:

Cable SNR
+27 dB
Cable Length
< 20 m

 

Capture.JPG

Member
Posts: 251
Registered: ‎09-30-2013
Kudos: 56
Solutions: 17

Re: PowerBeam 5AC Gen2

[ Edited ]

Something is wrong with your cable.... but I'm not sure exactly what it is.  Your cable is showing less than 20 meters (about 65').  Is your cable shielded and grounded to a shielded ethernet end?  Is it straight from the POE to the radio or do you have ethernet surge protection inline?

 

We stopped using long ethernet runs by using ER-6's and ES-16's so the runs to gear are usually less than 30 feet.  I have nothing to compare it to.

Ubiquiti Employee
Posts: 9,575
Registered: ‎11-27-2012
Kudos: 2872
Solutions: 612
Contributions: 73

Re: PowerBeam 5AC Gen2

@mssfrance2018  Please do not post unrelated questions or the same question in multiple places.   The short answer is no. If you use units that have not been certified by the FCC, you risk getting a fine or possible incompatibility between units as far as supported frequencies.

UBNT_Alternate_Logo.png
Ubiquiti Networks airMAX Support Team

Check out our ever-evolving Help Center for answers to many common questions!

FREE UBWA Student Guide-Great RF Primer!

Ubiquiti Employee
Posts: 9,575
Registered: ‎11-27-2012
Kudos: 2872
Solutions: 612
Contributions: 73

Re: PowerBeam 5AC Gen2

@pbfarmer55  I would suspect an issue with the cable.   

 

The reason I asked about co-located radios is that sometimes FM/VHF radios that are co-located can cause issues with ethernet negotiation.  

UBNT_Alternate_Logo.png
Ubiquiti Networks airMAX Support Team

Check out our ever-evolving Help Center for answers to many common questions!

FREE UBWA Student Guide-Great RF Primer!

Reply