Upcoming Maintenance Alert:

The UBNT Community will be upgraded at 5pm MDT on April 25th. During this time the community forums will be set to read-only status.

Learn more

×
Reply
Highlighted
New Member
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎05-30-2015
Accepted Solution

help with new 5AC 500 additions

I currently beam internet from Mexico across 3.5 miles of water to Belize.  The 5ac 500 transmits directly to 2 5ac 500 radios in line with each other.  Users demand a strong signal even thru tropical storms for there use and security camera etc.  More clients want to be added now.  but they are not directly in the beam.  But only short distances away.  

 

Question:

how far to the right and left of the signal can they be for full use.

 

Secondly, do they also need 5ac 500 radios, or will other work, and if so what kinds.

 

Screen Shot 2017-08-12 at 10.22.20 AM.png


Accepted Solutions
Senior Member
Posts: 3,092
Registered: ‎07-03-2008
Kudos: 762
Solutions: 68

Re: help with new 5AC 500 additions


Peep wrote:
what does the box EIRB do if I select it.  I did not because it dropes my power from 22 to 3.

I have very little experience using 7.X firmware -- is that the "calculate EIRP limit" checkbox?

 

I would upgrade to current v8 firmware and see what airMagic says.

View solution in original post


All Replies
New Member
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎05-30-2015

Re: help with new 5AC 500 additions

The two new clients will be the red tags

 

Current ones are the yellow tags.

 

 

Senior Member
Posts: 3,092
Registered: ‎07-03-2008
Kudos: 762
Solutions: 68

Re: help with new 5AC 500 additions

[ Edited ]

What is the approximate distance between the two red endpoints?

New Member
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎05-30-2015

Re: help with new 5AC 500 additions

[ Edited ]

the first yellow pin is the main dish that i alighned to.  the red pin to the right will be 958 ft away, and the red pin to the left will be 1500 ft away.  Thats away from the yellow pin.  or a span of 2458 ft at 3.5 miles away from sorce

Senior Member
Posts: 3,092
Registered: ‎07-03-2008
Kudos: 762
Solutions: 68

Re: help with new 5AC 500 additions

That's only a 7.6° included angle, so you should be well within the coverage of a 500 as the AP.

New Member
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎05-30-2015

Re: help with new 5AC 500 additions

thanks

 

Now do they have to have 5ac 500 radios or are their others that will work fine with the transmitting 5ac 500?

Senior Member
Posts: 3,092
Registered: ‎07-03-2008
Kudos: 762
Solutions: 68

Re: help with new 5AC 500 additions

Assuming your signal levels are good I would go ahead and use the same radios.  That way you only need to keep a single spare on the shelf.

New Member
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎05-30-2015

Re: help with new 5AC 500 additions

Thanks all i needed to here.  but that bring up a new topic.  What are good signals.  Have never got a good answer on that one.  I am at 67db

Senior Member
Posts: 3,092
Registered: ‎07-03-2008
Kudos: 762
Solutions: 68

Re: help with new 5AC 500 additions

Keep your RX levels below 60 and you will get higher modulation rates.  What are your TX power or EIRP settings?

New Member
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎05-30-2015

Re: help with new 5AC 500 additions

transmitter

and receiver

Screen Shot 2017-08-12 at 12.27.47 PM.pngScreen Shot 2017-08-12 at 12.28.47 PM.png

New Member
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎05-30-2015

Re: help with new 5AC 500 additions

Screen Shot 2017-08-12 at 12.35.19 PM.png

Senior Member
Posts: 3,092
Registered: ‎07-03-2008
Kudos: 762
Solutions: 68

Re: help with new 5AC 500 additions

Something is not right there.  You have a lot of work to do.

 

I would start by updating to v8.3.1 stable and see what your levels look like.  airLink predicts -47 using an EIRP of 47 dBm.  What does airView show?  Try using narrower channel as well.

New Member
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎05-30-2015

Re: help with new 5AC 500 additions

receiving airmap then tx airmap

 

Looks messy, and freq you think i should selet?  Also what does the box EIRB do if I select it.  I did not because it dropes my power from 22 to 3.Screen Shot 2017-08-12 at 1.03.59 PM.pngScreen Shot 2017-08-12 at 1.05.10 PM.png

Senior Member
Posts: 3,092
Registered: ‎07-03-2008
Kudos: 762
Solutions: 68

Re: help with new 5AC 500 additions


Peep wrote:
what does the box EIRB do if I select it.  I did not because it dropes my power from 22 to 3.

I have very little experience using 7.X firmware -- is that the "calculate EIRP limit" checkbox?

 

I would upgrade to current v8 firmware and see what airMagic says.

Reply