Upcoming Maintenance Alert:

The UBNT Community will be upgraded at 5pm MDT on April 25th. During this time the community forums will be set to read-only status.

Learn more

×
Reply
Highlighted
New Member
Posts: 6
Registered: a week ago

2 Powerbeam M5 400 's lose connection with Heavy network traffic

[ Edited ]

I have 2 Powerbeam M5 400 's connected together. Running Firmware V6.0.6(XW)

They are connected with a AirMax quality of 94% and airmax capacity of 86%

They are connected together ok but when the network gets heavy traffic or I try to do the speed test the conection momentarly drops out. I have other sets of the same product installed in outer locations and they do not have the same issues. I dont know how to reslove the issue.

 

Capture.PNG
Member
Posts: 318
Registered: ‎10-13-2016
Kudos: 86
Solutions: 9

Re: 2 Powerbeam M5 400 's lose connection with Heavy network traffic

Please show the page from the station as well.
And try just 20 wide in a clean channel quick to see if the issue persists.

New Member
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎05-28-2013
Kudos: 1
Solutions: 1

Re: 2 Powerbeam M5 400 's lose connection with Heavy network traffic

Are they connected to a Mikrotik router? If so, you may have to enable flow control on the router port. 

 

New Member
Posts: 6
Registered: a week ago

Re: 2 Powerbeam M5 400 's lose connection with Heavy network traffic

They have a ASUS router but the router does not seem to be invloved in the issue. Also I have anotehr set runing behind the same router with no issues.

Here is a screen capture from the other end

Capture2.PNG
Member
Posts: 318
Registered: ‎10-13-2016
Kudos: 86
Solutions: 9

Re: 2 Powerbeam M5 400 's lose connection with Heavy network traffic

Try changing the channel width from 40 to 20.

New Member
Posts: 6
Registered: a week ago

Re: 2 Powerbeam M5 400 's lose connection with Heavy network traffic

I changed it to 20. on the first two speed tests it was better, (only timing out on a couple of pings during the test)but on the 3rd speed test it started droping out again.

 

On the host end I do have two different M5 400's on the same pole. One pointing west and one pointing north.

The one pointing north and its other end are not having any issues. Getting over 190mbps on the speed test.

 

I have frequency on Auto.  Should I try specifying a specific channel? Should I try AirSelect?

 

Capture3.PNG
Member
Posts: 318
Registered: ‎10-13-2016
Kudos: 86
Solutions: 9

Re: 2 Powerbeam M5 400 's lose connection with Heavy network traffic

Try running AirView from both ends and select the cleanest channel. Do not use the speed test app built into the radio's, as thats only telling you indicated airspeed. use iperf from a device on the far side to the side closest to you. Or in my case I will use a cheap Mikrotik router on the remote end of something i'm testing just to use their btest tool to my head end router. Thats far more accurate than the built in tool.

New Member
Posts: 6
Registered: a week ago

Re: 2 Powerbeam M5 400 's lose connection with Heavy network traffic

How do I "Select the cleanest channel"

Regular Member
Posts: 503
Registered: ‎03-17-2016
Kudos: 86
Solutions: 26

Re: 2 Powerbeam M5 400 's lose connection with Heavy network traffic

Once Airview is ran you look at the entire spectrum and choose a channel with the least amount of noise/interference. Apply that to the AP and never use Auto. You can choose a channel and test it out and change to another if needed. As suggested run Airview on both the AP and station.
New Member
Posts: 6
Registered: a week ago

Re: 2 Powerbeam M5 400 's lose connection with Heavy network traffic

Here is what my Airview looks like.

Not sure I know what im looking at.

So Im assuming I would want to pick 5795 or 5815 or 5820?

Capture4.PNG
Ubiquiti Employee
Posts: 1,388
Registered: ‎04-14-2017
Kudos: 386
Solutions: 29

Re: 2 Powerbeam M5 400 's lose connection with Heavy network traffic

Yes, those channels look to have lower noise than some of the others.
New Member
Posts: 6
Registered: a week ago

Re: 2 Powerbeam M5 400 's lose connection with Heavy network traffic

I tried 5795 and 5820.

It still drops out during speed test and during high network load

I lose 5 pings during a speed test

Reply