Reply
New Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-08-2018
Accepted Solution

Nano station Loco M2 conect to ASUS wireless N300 router problem

Hi, I am new at setting up loco m2. I was able to set it up loco m2 as station to receive Hotspot wifi and conect it directly to computer with ethernet cable and it works. I used newbie pdf instructions,  and loco m2 is set to ip 192.168.123.1.....

However when I try conecting Asus wireless router N300 .....not able to connect at all......I have a feeling that I dont have router set up correctly...

 

Please help!!!!


Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Emerging Member
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎01-04-2013
Kudos: 8
Solutions: 3

Re: Nano station Loco M2 conect to ASUS wireless N300 router problem

I do lots of these with Asus and Tplink routers using M2 Loco's.

 

Reset to factory the Asus router.

Leave the router at default IP(192.168.0.1)

Plug the Lan side of the M2 POE to the WAN port of the router.

Connect your laptop to one of the LAN ports of the router.

Surf......

If a wizard comes up, follow the prompts.

You may choose to change the SSID and network key.

Leave DHCP on, let the router do the DHCP assignment and all devices can then all be on the same network.

 

Cheers

Having never been shown the advantages of growing up, I have no intentions of doing so....Icon Lol

View solution in original post


All Replies
Ubiquiti Employee
Posts: 7,522
Registered: ‎04-14-2017
Kudos: 1461
Solutions: 207

Re: Nano station Loco M2 conect to ASUS wireless N300 router problem

What are you trying to do with this setup?
New Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-08-2018

Re: Nano station Loco M2 conect to ASUS wireless N300 router problem

[ Edited ]

Hey thanks for responding.....I am trying to use the loco m2 station to lock on to free wifi in my area which I seem to have done because I do get the internet when hooked up directly to a single PC via ethernet wire. However I would like to hookup the m2 station to  a wireless router to uterlize that same singnal so that I can use multiple devices such as cell phone ect in my apartment.

My router has three modes ....Repeater, Router and Acces Point......

 

Thanks....

Ubiquiti Employee
Posts: 10,545
Registered: ‎11-27-2012
Kudos: 3310
Solutions: 671
Contributions: 73

Re: Nano station Loco M2 conect to ASUS wireless N300 router problem

So there are two ways you could go about this.  If your airMAX radio is in router mode, you could set the Netgear to Access Point Only mode and that would allow other devices to connect.

 

If the airMAX radios network mode is bridged, you could set the Netgear to Router mode.

UBNT_Alternate_Logo.png
Ubiquiti Networks airMAX Support Team

Check out our ever-evolving Help Center for answers to many common questions!

FREE UBWA Student Guide-Great RF Primer!

New Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-08-2018

Re: Nano station Loco M2 conect to ASUS wireless N300 router problem

Ok ...Thanks but this is where I am having problem....loco m2 is in router mode and trying to set up ASUS n300 not netgear in AP mode...When I set to AP mode it changes the router ip which has to be used to get back into router, and I have no idea how to get that ip address....There is asus discoverey utility I downloaded but it does not find it.....

 

I need to now where to plug in the ethernet wire from the loco m2 when prgraming the wireless  router...should it be in wan or lan of the router???

 

Do I need to set lan settings in the router to match what is in the loco m2

 

do I need to turn dhcp off in router????

 

Please help ....I need a little more detail as I am not an expert at this....

 

Thanks

Ubiquiti Employee
Posts: 956
Registered: ‎02-13-2017
Kudos: 377
Solutions: 96

Re: Nano station Loco M2 conect to ASUS wireless N300 router problem

Normally, when you set your router to AP mode, it just changes it over to bridge mode and bridges the WAN port with the LAN ports. So, either the WAN or the LAN should work. Also, once the router is in AP mode, does the internet start working? Can you connect to the SSID of the Asus router?

UBNT_Alternate_Logo.png
Ubiquiti Networks airMAX Support Team

Check out our ever-evolving Help Center for answers to many common questions!

Highlighted
Emerging Member
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎01-04-2013
Kudos: 8
Solutions: 3

Re: Nano station Loco M2 conect to ASUS wireless N300 router problem

I do lots of these with Asus and Tplink routers using M2 Loco's.

 

Reset to factory the Asus router.

Leave the router at default IP(192.168.0.1)

Plug the Lan side of the M2 POE to the WAN port of the router.

Connect your laptop to one of the LAN ports of the router.

Surf......

If a wizard comes up, follow the prompts.

You may choose to change the SSID and network key.

Leave DHCP on, let the router do the DHCP assignment and all devices can then all be on the same network.

 

Cheers

Having never been shown the advantages of growing up, I have no intentions of doing so....Icon Lol
Reply